Dungey, Canard Star at Pala

Shan Moore | September 11, 2010

Ryan Dungey topped off an incredible rookie year with yet another 1-1 performance at the final round of the Lucas Oil AMA Motocross Series at Pala Raceway in San Diego, California – his eighth moto sweep of the year. In addition, the Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider added more records to his mantle, breaking Ricky Carmichael’s rookie win record by one by taking his 10th overall victory of the season at Pala, and beating Carmichael’s rookie point total by eight points ending the season with a record 543 points.However, the biggest news off the day came in the 250 division where GEICO Powersports Honda’s Trey Canard completed his amazing come-from-behind championship run by claiming the 250 title with a third overall finish, while championship rival Christophe Pourcel crashed out of the opening moto and suffered a separated shoulder.Despite the fact that Canard had won five of the last seven rounds of the series, Pourcel came into the Pala finale with a seven-point lead over Canard and needed only to finish second in each moto if Canard took both wins. In the end, Canard went 4-3 for third overall (despite also crashing in the first moto), while Pourcel was credited with 31st in the first moto and he failed to start moto two.”There’s so many emotions and thoughts running through my head,” said Canard. “When the time came, I thought about all these hard years and it made it that much better. I’m still kind of dreaming right now. I’m just stoked.”In the meantime, Pourcel’s Monster Energy Kawasaki teammate Dean Wilson took the 250-class overall win with a 1-1 performance, topping teammate Tyla Rattray, who went 2-2.In the 450 class, GEICO Powersports Honda’s Brett Metcalfe won the battle for second overall in the final standings, edging out Red Bull Honda’s Andrew Short for the runner-up position by five points. At Pala, the two riders traded second and third place finishes.Meanwhile, TLD/Muscle Milk Honda’s Ben Townley was fourth overall at Pala with a 6-4 performance while Ryan Sipes put his Motoconcepts Yamaha into fifth overall after going 4-6.450


1. Ryan Dungey (Suz) 1-1

2. Andrew Short (Hon) 3-2

3. Brett Metcalfe (Hon) 2-3

4. Ben Townley (Hon) 6-4

5. Ryan Sipes (Yam) 4-6

6. Kyle Chisholm (Yam) 9-5

7. Kevin Windham (Hon) 7-8

8. Justin Brayton (Yam) 12-7

9. Kyle Regal (Hon) 5-14

10. Nick Wey (Kaw) 11-9250 Results

1. Dean Wilson (Kaw) 1-1

2. Tyla Rattray (Kaw) 2-2

3. Trey Canard (Hon) 4-3

4. Eli Tomac (Hon) 8-4

5. Justin Barcia (Hon) 6-5

6. Cole Seely (Hon) 3-12

7. Wil Hahn (Hon) 7-7

8. Broc Tickle (Yam) 5-9

9. Martin Davalos (Yam) 14-6

10. Les Smith (Hon) 13-11


Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.