Loretta Lynn: Day 1 In The Books (Updated)

Cycle News Staff | August 4, 2010

The first day of racing at the 29th Annual AMA Amateur National Motocross Championships at Loretta Lynn Ranch presented by Amsoil is complete, and day one offered up the typical Loretta’s experience – lots of heat and humidity, a rough track, and great racing. Here are some of the day 1 highlights:Plus 35: This race kicked the off the week-long event at 7:30 a.m. sharp on Tuesday morning, and the winningest rider in the history of the event, Kevin Walker, grabbed the holeshot. He made a mistake and slid out early in the race, though, allowing defending class champion Keith S. Johnson to grab the number-one spot and the win, with Walker second.Schoolboy 2: In one of the best races of the day, Suzuki’s Joey Savatgy worked from about fifth to get into the lead. But Savatgy crashed with two laps to go, allowing Kawasaki’s Thomas Covington to catch up, and then make a pass for the lead. Covington had a few bike lengths of an advantage on the last lap, but Savatgy dug deep and made a pass with just a few turns to go, getting the lead back and taking the win.Schoolboy 1: The two-stroke 125 Schoolboy class usually offers up the best battles, but in the first moto Mitch Oldenberg simply checked out on his YZ125, and won with ease. Savatgy got a bad start and carried through the pack for second.250 A Pro Sport: Rockstar Suzuki’s Ian Trettle led the way early but Monster Kawasaki Team Green’s Jason Anderson caught him and engaged in a battle. They touched and Trettle went down, dropping to fifth, while Anderson took the win. 51cc Classes: California’s Stilez Robertson was the 51cc (7-8) AMA 2 Stock winner, Georgia’s Gage Linville was the AMA 1 Stock winner, Florida’s Dylan Vern topped the 51cc (4-6) Stock Multi-Speed, and his neighbor Steel Gately topped the Shaft Drive class.SuperMini 2: Adam Cianciarulo is the biggest name in this class, and he worked his way past Dakota Alix to claim the lead and begin pulling away. But he washed out with two laps to go by the mechanics’ area, allowing Cooper Webb to get around him and grab the win. Cianciarulo finished second.450 A Pro Sport: Suzuki’s Austin Politelli led most of the race despite the fact that his pants started falling down, but he crashed late in the race, opening the door for Gannon Audette to steal the moto win, with Politelli second.25 Plus: Robbie Reynard is back at the Ranch, and he took fourth in the 250 A Pro Sport class before crushing the 25 Plus division.45 Plus: Doug Dubach has been almost unbeatable at the ranch, and he was again with a 45 Plus class victory. He’ll have to face off against Walker in 40 Plus, however.

Day 1 ResultsVet 35 Plus – Moto 1

Keith Johnson, Carver, Mass., Kawasaki

Kevin Walker, Gray, Tenn., Yamaha

Dan Moore, Yakima, Wash., Suzuki

85 (12-14) Stock – Moto 1

Chris Alldredge, Powell Butte, Ore., Yamaha

Keith Tucker, Fuquay Varina, N.C., Yamaha

Jon Ames, Surprise, Ariz., Kawasaki

450 B Stock – Moto 1

Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Kawasaki

Austin Politelli, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha

Bogen Cochran, Calhoun, Ga., Kawasaki

450 A/Pro Sport – Moto 1

Gannon Audette, Cairo, Ga., Suzuki

Nick Paluzzi, Riverside, Calif., Suzuki

Lowell Spangler, Labanon, Pa., Kawasaki

65 (7-11) Modified – Moto 1

Joey Crown, Metamora, Ill., KTM

Luke Purther, Oak Hills, Calif., KTM

Jordan Bailey, Orlando, Fla., KTM

Girls (12-15) – Moto 1

Amanda Maheu, Clinton, Utah, Yamaha

Brandy Richards, Havasu, Ariz., Kawasaki

Kaitlyn Morrow, Houston, Texas, Yamaha

Junior 25 Plus – Moto 1

Robbie Reynard, Oklahoma City, Okla., Yamaha

James Evans, Elizabeth, Pa., Kawasaki

Josh Mast, Moberly, Mo., Honda

51 (7-8) AMA 2 Stock – Moto 1

Stilez Robertson, Bakersfield, Calif., Cobra

Parker Mashburn, Stephenville, Texas, Cobra

Jackson Turpin, Locust Grove, Ga., Cobra

51 (4-6) AMA 1 Stock – Moto 1

Gage Linville, Cordele, Ga., Cobra

Vance Stiers, Alexandria, Ohio, Cobra

Jaiden Taylor, Lansing, Mich., Cobra

51 (4-6) Stock Multi-Speed – Moto 1

Dylan Varn, Plant City, Fla., Honda

Vincent Valente, Kissimmee, Fla., Honda

Dagan Emert, Flint, Mich., Honda

51 (4-6) Stock Shaft Drive – Moto 1

Steel Gately, Ft. Pierce, Fla., Yamaha

Gage Pfeifer, Londonberry, Ohio, Yamaha

Lukas Lewis, Locust Grove, Ga., Yamaha

Schoolboy 1 (12-16) B/C – Moto 1

Mitchell Oldenburg, Alvord, Texas, Yamaha

Joey Savagty, Thomasville, Ga., Suzuki

Colt Nichols, Muskogee, Okla., Yamaha

Senior 45 Plus – Moto 1

Doug Dubach, Tustin, Calif., Yamaha

Barry McCarty, Port Orange, Fla., Kawasaki

Fred Nette, Joliet, Ill., Honda

Masters 50 Plus – Moto 1

Matt Tedder Sr., Surfside, Calif., Kawasaki

Craig Pickett, Linden, Mich., Honda

Mark Hyde, Pataskala, Ohio, KTM

450 C – Moto 1

Max Groom, Highland, Calif., Suzuki

Kyle Durham, Owensboro, Ky., Suzuki

Daua Andreoli, Boca Raton, Fla., Honda

250 A/Pro Sport – Moto 1

Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M., Kawasaki

Gavin Faith, Duncombe, Iowa, Honda

Broc Schmelyun, Glen Rock, Pa., Yamaha

Super Mini 2 (13-16) – Moto 1

Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Honda

Adam Cianciarulo, Port Orangel, Fla., Kawasaki

Dakota Alix, Jay, Vt., Suzuki

450 B Modified – Moto 1

Joey Peters, Asbury, N.J., Yamaha

Chris Plouffe, Castaic, Calif., Honda

Bogen Cochran, Calhoun, Ga., Kawasaki

85 (9-11) Modified – Moto 1

Austin Forkner, Richards, Mo., Suzuki

Rookie White, Winchester, Calif., Suzuki

Tristan Charbonneau, Tenino, Wash., Yamaha

Vet B/C 30 Plus – Moto 1

Stacey Virgin, El Cajon, Calif., Kawasaki

Robert Novak, Bridgehampton, N.Y., Honda

Randy Salamon, Brunswick, Ohio, Honda

250 C Stock – Moto 1

Ryan Breece, Athol, Idaho, Yamaha

Colby Mullins, Canton, Ga., Kawasaki

Broc Gourley, Boonville, Ind., KTM

Schoolboy 2 (13-16) B/C – Moto 1

Joey Savagty, Thomasville, Ga., Suzuki

Thomas Covington, Temecula, Calif., Kawasaki

Colt Nichols, Muskogee, Okla., Kawasaki

250 A – Moto 1

Gannon Audette, Cairo, Ga., Suzuki

Ian Trettel, Silver Springs, Fla., Suzuki

Zackery Freeberg, Clearwater, Fla., Kawasaki