Cairoli Crowned at Brazilian GP

Cycle News Staff | August 23, 2010

The series isn’t over yet, but the championship already is. Factory KTM rider Antonio Cairoli topped the MX1 podium at the Brazilian Grand Prix, which handed the Sicilian his fourth World Motocross title. On a hot day in in Campo Grande, Brazil, Cairoli rode to victory aboard the KTM 350 SX-F, earning him the 2010 number one plate in the premier class of the FIM championship. Cairoli also worked his way into the history books with his 36th Grand Prix victory, putting him among the top-ten winningest GP riders of all time with the likes of Roger DeCoster and Mickael Pichon.

“I did not expect to win here but it is always nice to be World Champion as soon as possible,” the 24-year-old Sicilian said. “I did not take any risks and I was also a bit lucky that Desalle stopped, but that is racing. For sure I am happy with the new bike. I never had to stop for any technical problem and that is really important if you want to be constant. I love this bike and the whole team, they have helped me a lot!”

Cairoli’s big win came in part due to a mechanical complication of Clement Desalle, who was on his way to a win in the second moto before being forced to retire from the race. David Philippaerts topped the field in the first MX1 moto and ended the day tied in event points with Cairoli, but Cairoli’s second moto victory gave him the nod for the overall win.

Philippaerts ended the day in second ahead of Max Nagl, who rounded out the MX1 podium with a 4-3 score on the day. Desalle’s Rockstar Teka Suzuki World teammate Steve Ramon combined a seventh and a fourth place in the motos to finish fourth while Rui Gonçalves rounded out the top five, making it a big day for the Red Bull KTM Factory Racing MX1 team.

In the MX2 ranks, it was German teenager Ken Roczen who ended the day on top. Roczen took his second victory in three GPs with a perfect 1-1 score, having battled championship points leader Marvin Musquin (1) in each moto to come out on top. Taking second behind Roczen was no cause for worry since Musquin maintains a 72-point lead in the championship with only two rounds remaining. The Frenchman still hopes to wrap up the title at the penultimate round in Lierop.

Belgian rider Jeremy Van Horebeek made his career first podium appearance in Campo Grande. The Kawasaki CLS rider notched a 3-6 finish for third overall ahead of Arnoud Tonus. American rider Zach Osborne rounded out the top-five overall in Brazil.MX1 Race 1 top ten: 1. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 41:20.839; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:09.791; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), +0:13.112; 4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:20.864; 5. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Honda), +0:46.909; 6. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), +0:54.816; 7. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +1:13.946; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), +1:21.489; 9. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Aprilia), +1:23.814; 10. Jimmy Albertson (USA, Honda), +1:25.132;

MX1 Race 2 top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 41:15.746; 2. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:08.278; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:16.775; 4. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:29.866; 5. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), +0:43.882; 6. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:58.480; 7. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Aprilia), +1:03.281; 8. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Honda), +1:08.317; 9. Jimmy Albertson (USA, Honda), +1:09.895; 10. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), +2:03.205;

MX1 Overall top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 47 points; 2. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 47 p.; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 38 p.; 4. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 32 p.; 5. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 31 p.; 6. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Honda), 29 p.; 7. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Aprilia), 26 p.; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), 24 p.; 9. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 24 p.; 10. Jimmy Albertson (USA, Honda), 23 p.;

MX1 Championship top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 578 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 471 p.; 3. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 441 p.; 4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 420 p.; 5. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 408 p.; 6. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), 314 p.; 7. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Yamaha), 309 p.; 8. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 291 p.; 9. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 270 p.; 10. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Honda), 242 p.;

MX2 Race 1 top ten: 1. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), 39:52.656; 2. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), +0:23.697; 3. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Suzuki), +0:53.952; 4. Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha), +1:01.715; 5. Harri Kullas (FIN, Yamaha), +1:06.236; 6. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), +1:10.772; 7. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), +1:16.108; 8. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), +1:46.335; 9. Michael Leib (USA, Kawasaki), +1:56.549; 10. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Yamaha), +2:01.833;

MX2 Race 2 top ten: 1. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), 41:22.126; 2. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), +0:18.016; 3. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), +0:25.375; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:32.532; 5. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:36.430; 6. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Suzuki), +0:38.248; 7. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), +0:38.531; 8. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), +1:24.599; 9. Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha), +1:29.587; 10. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Yamaha), +1:32.968;

MX2 Overall top ten: 1. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), 50 points; 2. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 44 p.; 3. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), 35 p.; 4. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Suzuki), 35 p.; 5. Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha), 30 p.; 6. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), 28 p.; 7. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 26 p.; 8. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Yamaha), 26 p.; 9. Harri Kullas (FIN, Yamaha), 26 p.; 10. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Yamaha), 22 p.;

MX2 Championship top ten: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 571 points; 2. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), 499 p.; 3. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 430 p.; 4. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 391 p.; 5. Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha), 343 p.; 6. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki), 337 p.; 7. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 329 p.; 8. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Suzuki), 328 p.; 9. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), 326 p.; 10. Harri Kullas (FIN, Yamaha), 280 p.;