Blazusiak Again at Indy EnduroCross

Cycle News Staff | August 30, 2010

It was business as usual for Red Bull KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak (pictured right), who stormed to another victory, this time in Indianapolis where the GEICO Powersports AMA EnduroCross series, presented by E3 Sparkplugs made its inaugural visit. But behind the Polish hard enduro sensation were two breakthrough performances by GEICO Kawasaki’s Kyle Redmond and RPM Racing’s Kevin Rookstool, both of whom claimed career-first podium finishes.

Blazusiak grabbed the lead early in the main event after fending off challenges by Geoff Aaron and Mike Brown and rode to a relatively uneventful win. Redmond (pictured below) was off to a lack-luster start, but steadily picked off rider after rider en route to overtaking the runner-up spot. The California native came to Indianapolis straight from the Xtinction Extreme Enduro in Canada, where he also celebrated a second-place finish.

Kyle RedmondJourneyman motocross racer Rookstool rounded out the podium with a third-place finish. The Northwest native admittedly “doesn’t even practice this stuff,” but got plenty of track time as he went all the way to the LCQ before qualifying for the main event. Rookstool climbed his way forward and capitalized on the misfortune of Aaron to ultimately claim third.

In the support classes, Steve Leivan won the Vet class over Off Road legend Jeff Fredette and Rik Smits, the former Indiana Pacers basketball player that now loves riding dirt bikes.  Michael Williams won the open Amateur main event and Patrick Smage won the TrialsCross class.  The top four in the Amateur classes battled for $500 in the dash for cash and Smage came back again to take the cash for gas money back to Wisconsin.

Kevin Rookstool2010 Indianapolis EnduroCross

Expert Class results:

1. Taddy Blazusiak     KTM

2. Kyle Redmond    Kasasaki

3. Kevin Rookstool (pictured right)    KTM

4. Gary Sutherlin     Kawasaki

5. Justin Soule     Kawasaki

6. Colton Haaker     Kawasaki

7. Cory Graffunder     Husqvarna

8. Jamie Lanza     Kawasaki

9. Mike Brown     KTM

10. Cody Webb     Gas Gas

11. Geoff Aaron     Christini KTM

The GEICO AMA EnduroCross series presented by E3 Spark plugs now heads to the Pacific Northwest for the first time and will be held in the Comcast Arena in Everett Washington on Saturday, September 11th.  

GEICO EnduroCross on the Lucas Oil Motorsports Hour on Versus network:

Event / Date / Arena                                                 Air Date / Time

Las Vegas, NV 07/17/10 – Orleans Arena:                 10/10/10 6:00 PM

Guthrie, OK 08/14/10 – Lazy E Arena:                       10/31/10 5:00 PM

Indianapolis, IN 08/27/10 – Pepsi Coliseum:             11/7/10 6:00 PM

Everett, WA 9/11/10 – Comcast Arena:           11/14/10 5:00 PM

Denver, CO 10/30/10 – National Western Complex: 12/12/10 5:00 PM

Las Vegas, NV 11/20/10 – Orleans Arena:                 12/19/10 6:00 PM

Note: All times are Eastern.