Sofuoglu Gets Third Supersport Pole

Henny Ray Abrams | May 30, 2010

TOOELE, UT, MAY 30: Hannspree Ten Kate Honda’s Kenan Sofuoglu took his third World Supersport pole of the year with the fastest lap in late afternoon qualifying at Miller Motorsports Park.Sofuoglu was in control of the session when he put together his two fastest laps-with a slow one in between-late in the 45-minute session. The lap of 1:51.339 would have given him pole, but he dropped it to 1:51.281 on his final flying lap of the 3.048-mile road course.Parkalgar Honda’s Eugene Laverty, who’s tied with Sofuoglu at three poles, put in his best lap on the 16th of 18, a time that was second to Sofuoglu by only .082 of a second.Spaniard Joan Lascorz and teammate Katsuaki Fujiwara were next fastest, the Kawasaki teammates filling out the front row. The top four were covered by .250 of a second.Row two was covered by just under .4 of a second and the top 10 by just over a second.Triumphs led off row two, David Salom in front of Chaz Davies. Michel Pirro was next on the second Hannspree Ten Kate Honda, with Fabien Foret eighth on the Team Lorenzini by Leoni Kawasaki.Robbin Harms was on the third row pole in front of Jason DiSalvo, on the third of four Triumphs.

Qualifying:1.Kenan Sofuoglu (Honda) 1:51.2812. Eugene Laverty (Honda) 1:51.3633. Joan Lascorz (Kawasaki) 1:51.4614. Katsuaki Fujiwara (Kawasaki) 1:51.5315. David Salom (Triumph) 1:51.6566. Chaz Davies (Triumph) 1:51.7977. Michel Pirro (Honda) 1:51.9298. Fabian Foret (Kawasaki) 1:52.0339. Robbin Harms (Honda) 1:52.24810. Jason DiSalvo (Triumph) 1:52.287

Henny Ray Abrams | Contributing Editor

Abrams is the longest-serving contributor at Cycle News. Over the course of his 35-some years of writing and shooting photos, he’s covered events from MotoGP to the Motocross World Championship - and everything in between.