Myers Makes History

Henny Ray Abrams | May 15, 2010

SONOMA, CA, MAY 15: History was made when 16-year-old Elena Myers (Suz) became the first female to win an AMA Pro Racing race in the twice red-flagged Supersport finale at Infineon Raceway in Sonoma, California.Riding the Elena Myers Racing Suzuki GSX-R600, Myers was in the right place at the right time when the race was stopped the second time, on the 10th of 18 scheduled laps. Myers, from nearby Discovery Bay, was leading when Joey Pascarella (LTD Racing Yamaha) high-sided out of second in turn nine. Pascarella had led across the stripe at the end of lap nine, but because he caused the second red flag-Jake Gagne caused the first-AMA officials determined that he would be the last rider on the lead lap in 18th place, with Myers being given the win.”I don’t think it’s quite sunk in yet,” she said.Mazda Technologies Yamaha’s Cameron Beaubier was the biggest loser. Beaubier led the first seven laps and had a 2.5 secs. lead when the race was stopped the first time, by Gagne’s crash in turn nine. Beaubier didn’t gate well on the re-start and found himself back in fourth place. He briefly took third from Myers in turn four, but Myers fought right back. And the two were able to take advantage when Pascarella ran wide in turn seven on what would be the final lap. That put Myers in the lead, but only for three turns. Then Pascarella high-sided out of second in turn ten and the race was stopped.”He was in front of me and he high-sided in the second to the last corner and I almost hit him when he high-sided,” Beaubier said.Beaubier finished second and Tyler O’Hara (Top Gun Yamaha) was third.Despite crashing, Pascarella still holds a commanding championship lead, having won three of the previous four races, with one second place. His total is 124 to 76 for Myers, now in second.


1. Elena Myers (Suzuki)

2. Cameron Beaubier (Yamaha)

3. Tyler O’Hara (Yamaha)

4. Scott Gilbert (Yamaha)

5. Austin DeHaven (Yamaha)

6. Michael Corbino (Yamaha)

7. Matthew Sadowski (Suzuki)

8. Travis Ohge (Yamaha)

9. Robert Tinagero (Yamaha)

10. Nicholas Hayman (Ducati)

Henny Ray Abrams | Contributing Editor

Abrams is the longest-serving contributor at Cycle News. Over the course of his 35-some years of writing and shooting photos, he’s covered events from MotoGP to the Motocross World Championship - and everything in between.