Pourcel Threepeats Daytona Lites

Kit Palmer | March 6, 2010

Defending East Lites Champion Christophe Pourcel made it three wins out of three races after putting together another strong and solid performance in the Lites-class main event tonight at Daytona International Speedway.Pourcel, on the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki, jumped out to a third-place start in the 15-lap final, quickly got around Rockstar Energy Suzuki’s Blake Blaggett and settled into second place behind early leader Austin Stroupe on the Rockstar/Makita factory Suzuki. Pourcel was in no hurry to attack Stroupe; instead, he hung back for a while, studying his lines around the fast and rough Daytona track. Then, on the fifth lap, Pourcel pounced and made his move on Stroupe by diving to the inside and making a clean pass for the lead. From there, Pourcel took command of the race and slowly and steadily stretched out his lead over Stroupe. He eventually took the checkered flag about three seconds ahead of Stroupe.Stroupe rode well all race long and managed to hold on to his position despite heavy pressure by Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson, who started off in fourth.In fact, Stroupe, Wilson and Baggett were all close together as the race came down to the wire, but no one could make a pass. Stroupe held onto second, with Wilson getting on the box in third.But Pourcel was the man of the hour. “That was a good race,” Pourcel said. “Austin rode really good, and once I passed him, I tried to ride smooth.”Stroupe was happy to get on the podium. “It would have been an honor to win here at Daytona, but it feels just as good to get second.”Wilson was also thrilled to get on the box. “I didn’t have a very good heat race, so I came into the main with a different perspective,” he said. “I had a couple of different lines that they weren’t using and started charging at the end. I’m really happy.”Baggett, on the Rockstar Energy Suzuki, missed making the podium by a few bikelengths.Finishing a little ways back in fifth was GEICO Powersport Honda’s Justin Barcia who could never really recover from his seventh-place start.Ryan Sipes, on the MotoConcepts Yamaha, finished second, followed by GEICO Powersports Honda’s Brett Metcalfe, Honda rider Darryn Durham, Kyle Cunningham and Star Racing/DNA Shred Stix’ Martin Davalos.

Daytona International SpeedwayDaytona Beach, FloridaResults: March 6, 2010 (Round 3 of 7)HEAT 1 (6 laps, 1-9 transfer): 1. Austin Stroupe (Suz); 2. Darryn Durham (Hon); 3. Ryan Sipes (Yam); 4. Dean Wilson (Kaw); 5. Kyle Keylon (Suz); 6. Troy Adams (Suz); 7. Josh Lichtle (Yam); 8. Levi Kilbarger (Hon); 9. Michael Willard (Hon); 10. Justin Sipes (Kaw); 11. Tony Gallo (Hon); 12. Sean Lipanovich (Hon); 13. Matt Lemoine (Suz); 14. Kurtis McCabe (Hon); 15. Nicholas Jackson (Hon); 16. Lucas Crespi (Suz); 17. Topher Ingalls (Yam); 18. Gared Steinke (Yam); 19. Shane Sewell (Yam); 20. Martin Davalos (Yam).Race Time: 6 min., 41.801 sec.Margin of Victory: 3.054 sec.HEAT 2 (6 laps, 1-9 transfer): 1. Christophe Pourcel (Kaw); 2. Bret Metcalfe (Hon); 3. Justin Barcia (Hon); 4. Kyle Cunningham (Hon); 5. Nico Izzi (Yam); 6. Blake Baggett (Suz); 7. Jake Moss (Suz); 8. James Decotis (Hon); 9. Alex Martin (Hon); 10. Tevin Tapia (KTM); 11. Vince Friese (Yam); 12. Steven Clarke (Suz); 13. Taylor Futrell (KTM); 14. Adam Chatfield (Kaw); 15. Drew Yenerich (Yam); 16. Les Smith (Yam); 17. Codi Adams (Yam); 18. Michael Akaydin (Kaw); 19. Johnny Moore (Hon); 20. Kyle Gills (Kaw).Race Time: 6 min., 40.829 sec.Margin of Victory: 0.863 sec.LCQ (4 laps, 1-2 transfer): 1. Martin Davalos (Yam); 2. Vince Frise (Yam); 3. Steven Clarke (Suz); 4. Adam Chatfield (Kaw); 5. Kyle gills (Kaw); 6. Tevin Tapia (KTM); 7. Les Smith (Yam); 8. Drew Yenerich (Yam); 9. Sean Lipanovich (Hon); 10. Johnny Moore (Hon); 11. Taylor Futrell (KTM); 12. Codi Adams (Yam); 13. Lucas Crespi (Suz); 14. Michael Akaydin (Kaw); 15. Gared Steinke (Yam); 16. Tony Gallo (Hon); 17. Nicholas Jackson (Hon); 18. Topher Ingalls (Yam); 19. Matt Lemoine (Suz); 20. Justin Sipes (Kaw).Race Time: 4 min., 38.743 sec.Margin of Victory: NAMAIN (15 laps): 1. Christophe Pourcel (Kaw); 2. Austin Stroupe (Suz); 3. Dean Wilson (Kaw); 4. Blake Baggett (Suz); 5. Justin Barcia (Hon); 6. Ryan Sipes (Yam); 7. Brett Metcalfe (Hon); 8. Darryn Durham (Hon); 9. Kyle Cunningham (Hon); 10. Martin Davalos (Yam); 11. Vince Friese (Yam); 12. Alex Martin (Hon); 13. Nico Izzi (Yam); 14. James Decoitis (Hon); 15. Josh Lichtle (Yam); 16. Jake Moss (Suz); 17. Troy Adams (Suz); 18. Kyle Keylon (Suz); 19. Michael Willard (Hon); 20. Levi Kilbarger (Hon).Race Time: 16 min., 21.962 sec.Margin of Victory: 2.298 sec.

Kit Palmer | Off-Road Editor

Kit Palmer started his career at Cycle News in 1984 and he’s been testing dirt and streetbikes every since – plus covering any event that uses some form of a knobby tire. He’s also our resident motorcycle mileage man with a commute of 120 miles a day.