Biaggi Bests Haslam In Race One

Paul Carruthers | March 28, 2010

Aprilia’s Max Biaggi held off Alstare Suzuki’s Leon Haslam by .200 of a second to win the first of two World Superbike races at the Portimao Circuit in Portugal, but Haslam could be content with stretching his early lead in the World Championship.For Biaggi it was his second World Superbike win on an Aprilia and his fifth overall, but it was a tough one as Haslam gave him fits throughout the race.Hannspree Ten Kate Honda’s Jonathan Rea finished third, the Northern Irishman inheriting the spot when Sterilgarda Yamaha’s Cal Crutchlow crashed out late in the race. Crutchlow, who qualified on pole position, remounted to finish 14th. Rea was almost seven seconds behind the lead duet.Althea Ducati’s Carlos Checa was fourth, but lost points to Haslam in the title chase. Haslam now leads the Spanish veteran by 18 points after three races.Aprilia’s good start to the day was made even better with Leon Camier finishing fifth on the second factory bike, the British rookie enjoying his first top-five finish in World Superbike.Althea Ducati’s Shane Byrne bounced back from a big crash yesterday to finish a lonely sixth, well clear of countryman James Toseland on the second Sterilgarda Yamaha.Xerox Ducati’s Noriyuki Haga fought through from his miserable qualifying effort to finish eighth on a circuit he doesn’t like, the Japanese star coming up just .2 of a second short of beating Toseland to the line.BMW’s Troy Corser ended the day ninth with his teammate Ruben Xaus getting his first points of the year in 10th. Ducati Xerox’s Michel Fabrizio could only manage 11th at the end of the first race.Roger Lee Hayden rode the Pedercini Kawasaki to 18th.

Race One

1.                  Max Biaggi (Aprilia)

2.                  Leon Haslam (Suzuki)

3.                  Jonathan Rea (Honda)

4.                  Carlos Checa (Ducati)

5.                  Leon Camier (Aprilia)

6.                  Shane Byrne (Ducati)

7.                  James Toseland (Yamaha)

8.                  Noriyuki Haga (Ducati)

9.                  Troy Corser (BMW)

10.                  Ruben Xaus (BMW)18. Roger Lee Hayden (Kawasaki)

Paul Carruthers | Editor

Paul Carruthers took over as the editor of Cycle News in 1993 after serving as associate editor since starting his career at the publication in 1985. Carruthers has covered every facet of the sport in his near-28-year tenure at America's Daily Motorcycle News Source.