Battle of the Ryans Continues in Toronto

Cycle News Staff | March 13, 2010

Toronto was supposed to be the site of Chad Reed’s long awaited return to the AMA Supercross Championship, and after setting the hot lap in practice in Daytona, it looked certain that he’d be back on the starting line a week later at Toronto’s Rogers Centre Dome. Reed managed to injure his right thumb just as his left hand was healing up, which will keep him on the sidelines for another round (possibly two).

But it was another factory Kawasaki rider who topped the podium at the Canadian round of the AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship. Ryan Villopoto of the Monster Energy Kawasaki team took his fifth win of the season tonight, and continues to chip away at Ryan Dungey’s substantial points lead.

Dungey didn’t spot him very many points, however, as he piloted his Rockstar Makita Suzuki to second place in Toronto which let him walk out the door with a 17-point advantage. Third place went to Red Bull Honda’s Trey Canard, who continues to fill in for the injured Andrew Short.

Canard took a commanding holeshot on the long, sweeping start in the main event with “the Ryans” in tow. Villopoto wasted no time getting around Canard to seize the lead. Dungey attempted to follow suit, but lost valuable time in the early race as it took him several laps to find a way around Canard.

By the time Dungey secured second place and set his sights on the number two Kawasaki, Villopoto had already gained all the ground he needed. Although Dungey put his head down and charged hard, Villopoto made sure to keep a good four-second gap over his championship rival, and despite Dungey’s best efforts, he wasn’t able to close in. All the Suzuki rider could do was wait for a mistake from Villopoto, but a mistake never came. Villopoto took his second-consecutive win followed by Dungey, who was left to collect second.

Canard nearly had to square off with his hard-charging teammate, Davi Millsaps, for the final podium position, but unfortunately Millsaps, who was making steady progress through the pack, suffered a hard get-off late in the race. Millsaps was down for several minutes before being helped to his feet, and appeared to be in quite a bit of pain. Early reports say Millsaps was complaining of pain to his lower back, but the extent of his injuries is not yet known.

Millsaps’ crash handed fourth place over to Valli Motorsports Yamaha’s Ivan Tedesco, and GEICO Powersports Honda’s Kevin Windham rounded out the top-five in Toronto. San Manuel Yamaha’s Josh Hill finished sixth after working his way up through the pack from a bad start. Nick Wey, who is now back with his Ti Lube Kawasaki team, finished seventh ahead of Tommy Hahn. JGR Yamaha’s Justin Brayton and Matt Boni finished out the top-ten.

HEAT 1 (8 laps, 1-9 qualify): 1. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw); 2. Davi Millsaps (Hon); 3. Kevin Windham (Hon); 4. Ivan Tedesco (Yam); 5. Tommy Hahn (Suz); 6. Chris Blose (Hon); 7. Jason Thomas (Suz); 8. Casey Hinson (Hon); 9. Teddy Parks (Kaw); 10. Jake Oswald (Hon); 11. Jarred Jet Browne (Kaw); 12. Ryan Morais (Suz).

Race Time: 7 min., 39.815 sec.

Margin of Victory: 1.492 sec.


HEAT 2 (8 laps, 1-9 qualify): 1. Ryan Dungey (Suz); 2. Josh Hill (Yam); 3. Trey Canard (Hon); 4. Kyle Chisholm (Yam); 5. Michael Byrne (Yam); 6. Matt Boni (Hon); 7. Nick Wey (Kaw); 8. Weston Peick (Yam); 9. Justin Keeney (Kaw); 10. Adam Martin (Kaw); 11. Justin Brayton (Yam).

Race Time: 7 min., 40.252 sec.

Margin of Victory: 24.675 sec.

MAIN: 1. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw); 2. Ryan Dungey (Suz); 3. Trey Canard (Hon); 4. Ivan Tedesco (Yam); 5. Kevin Windham (Hon); 6. Josh Hill (Yam); 7. Nick Wey (Kaw); 8. Tommy Hahn (Suz); 9. Justin Brayton (Yam); 10. Matt Boni (Hon); 11. Kyle Chisholm (Yam); 12. Michael Byrne (Yam); 13. Chris Blose (Hon); 14. Jason Thomas (Suz); 15. Weston Peick (Yam); 16. Teddy Parks (Kaw); 17. Justin Keeney (Kaw); 18. Casey Hinson (Hon); 19. Davi Millsaps (Hon); 20. Jarred Jet Browne (Kaw); 21. Jake Oswald (Hon); 22. Adam Martin (Kaw).