Roberts Honored With Glick Award

Paul Carruthers | February 22, 2010

Three-time World Champion Kenny Roberts beat out car racers Jeff Gordon, Tommy Ivo and Paul Newman to win the 11th Annual Justice Brothers-Shav Glick Award, which recognizes those who have made distinguished contributions to motorsports in California.The award, named in honor of long-time Los Angeles Times motorsports writer Shav Glick who passed away in 2007, was presented to Roberts yesterday at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, California, prior to the start of the Auto Club 500.Roberts was the first American to win the 500cc Road Racing World Championship and also won titles as a team owner. Along with various championships he won throughout his career, he was inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame in 1990, the International Motorsports Hall of Fame in 1992, and the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in 1998.Previous winners of the Shav Glick Award are Rick Mears, Carroll Shelby, Phil Hill, Dan Gurney, Wally Parks, Parnelli Jones, John Force, and last year’s winner Frank Kurtis among others.

Paul Carruthers | Editor

Paul Carruthers took over as the editor of Cycle News in 1993 after serving as associate editor since starting his career at the publication in 1985. Carruthers has covered every facet of the sport in his near-28-year tenure at America's Daily Motorcycle News Source.