Reed Takes Millville Win

Shan Moore | July 18, 2009

Chad Reed claimed his second overall victory of the year, the Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider going 2-1 at round seven of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championships at Spring Creek Motocross in Millville, Minnesota, in front of an enthusiastic crowd. Red Bull Honda’s Ivan Tedesco finished second overall via 5-2 moto finishes, while Reed’s teammate Michael Byrne rounded out the podium after taking a third and a fourth in the two motos.

Fresh off the first overall win of his career, two weeks ago at RedBud, Josh Grant set the fastest lap in morning practice at the lush Spring Creek Motocross facility. And the JGR/Toyota Yamaha rider carried that speed into the opening moto, passing Reed at the end of the first lap to take the lead, before pulling away to a relatively easy win. A first turn crash in the second moto, however, left Grant kick-starting his bike while the rest of the field disappeared in the distance.

Out front, Tedesco held the early lead but relinquished that position to Reed after a handful of laps. Reed would eventually pull away for the win while Tedesco and Honda teammate Davi Millsaps finished second and third, a good distance behind Reed.

Grant rebounded to finish 10th for the moto, and combined with his first moto win, claimed fourth overall, just ahead of Red Bull Honda’s Andrew Short, who went 6-5 for fifth overall.

MDK/KTM’s Justin Brayton turned in his best performance of the year, a consistent 7-7 for sixth overall.

In the 250 class, Ryan Dungey pulled within three points of series points leader Christophe Pourcel by taking the overall win, going 1-1 to get the job done in dominate fashion.

Pourcel finished off a safe and consistent day in second overall after turning in a pair of second place finishes. The Millville race was the first in which the Monster Energy Kawasaki rider has not won at least one moto.

Third overall went to GEICO Powersports Honda’s Justin Barcia who finished 3-3 after battling all day with teammate Brett Metcalfe, who ended up fourth overall after 4-4 finishes.

450 Overall Results: 1. Chad Reed (Suz); 2. Ivan Tedesco (Hon); 3. Michael Byrne (Suz); 4. Josh Grant (Yam); 5. Andrew Short (Hon); 6. Justin Brayton (KTM); 7. Tommy Hahn (Kaw); 8. Nick Wey (Yam); 9. Cody Cooper (Yam); 10. Davi Millsaps (Hon).

250 Overall Reuslts: 1. Ryan Dungey (Suz); 2. Christophe Pourcel (Kaw); 3. Justin Barcia (Hon); 4. Brett Metcalfe (Hon); 5. Bric Tickle (Yam); 6. Jake Weimer (Kaw); 7. Kyle Cunningham (Kaw); 8. Matt Lemoine (Yam); 9. Darryn Durham (Yam); 10. Tommy Searle (KTM).

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.