Kamo Captures Cherry Creek Win

| May 18, 2009

After 95 grueling miles filled with twists and turns that would drive any desert racer crazy, Shock Doctor/KTM’s David Kamo emerged from the Cherry Creek National Hare & Hound in first place to take his second win of his young career and the second of the season in the AMA  Hare & Hound National Championship in Jericho, Utah, May 16. The win didn’t come easily, however, as nearly 90 miles would pass before he would get into the lead and clean air.

At first, it looked as if Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Destry Abbott and Shock Doctor/KTM’s David Pearson would battle to the end, but Abbott would later stall his motorcycle, allowing Kamo to pass and take over second place. Abbott got back going again right behind Kamo.

On the final loop, Kamo and Abbott set out after Pearson, and when Pearson overshot a turn about eight miles from the finish, both Kamo and Abbott managed to get past the leader and would race each other for the win the rest of the way. Kamo held on to take the win, followed by Abbott and Pearson.

Previous-race winner, KTM-mounted Russ Pearson finished fourth, while Kawasaki pilot T.J. Hannifin round out the top five. Kawasaki rider Jacob Argubright finished sixth, followed by Jordan Brandt, Kendall Norman, Ryan Kudla and Shawn Strong.


Overall: 1. David Kamo (KTM); 2. Destry Abbott (Kaw); 3. David Kamo (KTM); 4. Russ Pearson (KTM); 5. T.J. Hannifin (Kaw); 6. Jacob Argubright (Kaw); 7. Jordan Brandt (KTM); 8. Kendall Norman (Hon); 9. Ryan Kudla (Kaw); 10. Shawn Strong (KTM); 11. Justin Morrow (Kaw); 12. Dylan Murdock (Kaw); 13. Daniel Modson (Hon); 14. Trevor Ricci (KTM); 15. Brett Saunders (Kaw) 16. Ty Pincock (Kaw); 17. Josh Mott (Hon); 18. Nick Hamill (KTM); 19. Morgan Crawford (KTM); 20. Preston Hannifin (Kaw)

By Freelance