Blose and Abrigo Split Wins, J-Law Stirs Up Drama

Jean Turner | May 2, 2009

Red Baron’s Michael Blose (pictured) and BBR Motorsports rider Ryan Abrigo headlined the sixth annual Maxxis MiniMoto Supercross in Las Vegas last night, taking wins in the 12-inch and 10-inch Expert main events, respectively. In the Youth division, Blake Baggett put in a dominant performance in both the 10- and 12-inch classes. The 17-year-old soon-to-be Pro rider took a wire-to-wire win in the 12-inch Youth Expert class with lap times that were among the quickest of the night.

There was another rider in the spotlight at the Orleans Arena on Friday night… though he didn’t take top honors, he certainly stole the show. Depending on your perspective, the event was either highlighted or tainted by the reckless and seemingly unprovoked behavior of Jason Lawrence in the 12-inch Expert main event – the final race of the evening. Lawrence was off to a sixth-place start and riding well, but quickly became more focused on taking people out than racing.

Lawrence’s first victim was French rider Mike Valade, last year’s third-place finisher. At the end of the longest straight, Lawrence parked him in the corner, putting Valade over the berm. Lawrence went for a similar move on David Pingree, who was running third, but fortunately, Pingree didn’t falter, and maintained the point.

Lawrence managed to drop himself back to 17th place as he continued on the war path, putting aggressive block-passes on his BBR teammates, Abrigo and defending champion, Derek Costella. The drama didn’t stop there… police were called in after several fights broke out in the pits following the event.

Erika Short topped the Women’s division after Jackie Ives had a spectacular spill, handing the lead over to Short. Kawasaki riders Tania Satchwell and Tatum Sik joined her on the podium.

JCR Honda’s Timmy Weigand and Red Baron-mounted David Pingree got on the 12-inch expert podium, finishing second and third, respectively. Defending champion Derek Costella only got on the podium in the 10-inch division, where he finished second ahead of  Ryan Beat.

Overall Results by class:

10-inch Stock/Mod

1. Clint Johnson, Red Lion PA

2. Kyle Coen, Auburn WA

3. Duane Brown, Auburn WA

35 Plus

1. Victor Sheldon, Vista, Ca.

2. Ricky Lee, Palm Beach Gardens, FLA

3. Kevin Popaeko, Woodstock, ILL

10-inch Amateur

1. Kevin Bosch, Chino, CA

2. Kevin Popaeko, Woodstock, ILL

3. Mikey Borchardt, Plano, TX

16-inch Stock/Mod

1. Scott Burnworth, Jamul, CA

2. Danny Milosavljevic, Vista, CA

3. Dustin Somogyi, Templeton, CA


12-inch Stock/Mod

1. Randy Pekarek, Phoenix, OR

2. Jake Oswald, Alpine, CA

3. Austin Parr, Henderson, NV


8-inch Amateur Vintage

1. Derek Rose, Casco, MI

2. Tyson Clark, Carlisle, PA

3. Jay Maloney, Klupepper, VA


12-inch Amateur

1. David Segers, Belgium

2. Malachi Walker, Benbrook, TX

3. Kevin Popaeko, Woodstock, ILL



1. Erika Short, Lemon Grove, CA

2. Tania Satchwell, Laguna, CA

3. Tatum Sik, Temecula, CA


10-inch Expert

1. Ryan Abrigo, Snohomish, WA

2. Derek Costella, North Las Vegas, NV

3. Ryan Beat, El Cajon, CA


12-inch Youth Stock/Mod

1. James Gardiner, Las Vegas, NV

2. Tristan Miller, Alpine, CA.

3. Steven Gibson, Lake Havasu City, AZ


12-inch Youth

1. Blake Bagget, Grand Terrace, CA

2. Logun Pickering, Rancho Cucamor, CA

3. Brandon Schreuder, Victorville, CA


10-inch Youth

1. Blake Bagget, Grand Terrance, CA

2. Jason Anderson, Murrieta, CA

3. Brandon Schreuder, Victorville, CA


12-inch Expert

1. Michael Blose, Phoenix, AZ

2. Tim Weigand, Canyon Country, CA

3. David Pingree, Temecula, CA


Baja Designs Mini Night Race

1. Kyle Coen, Auburn, WA

Jean Turner | Contributor

A former staffer at Cycle News, Turner continues to contribute to the website and magazine as a columnist and someone we can count on to whip up a few thousand words on an off-road race when needed.