Odom Wins Inaugural “SuperSport”

Paul Carruthers | March 5, 2009

Erion Racing’s Tyler Odom fought his way through the field to win today’s inaugural AMA Pro SuperSport at Daytona International Speedway.Odom wasn’t a factor early in the race, which is for riders aged 16 to 21, but he was when it counted – at the end. The Honda CBR600RR-mounted Odom caught the lead duo of Joey Pascarella and James Wikle with two laps remaining and from there it was his race to win. The Torrence, California, racer won the race by a scant .310 of a second over Pascarella. Third place went to Wikle, who was just .003 of a  second behind Pascarella. Pascarella rode a Yamaha R6 with Wikle aboard a Suzuki GSX-R600s.Fourth place went to a rather lonely Kyle Wyman, the New Yorker riding a Yamaha R6, some 14 seconds behind the lead pack.The race for fifth was another close one with Matthew Sadowski, the son of former Daytona 200 winner Dave Sadowski, ending up getting the spot over Christopher Clark and the son of former Grand National Champion Bubba Shobert, Clint Shobert. Those three were seperated by just .3 of a second.Ryan Clay, Reese Wacker and Kyle Keesee rounded out the top 10 finishers.”I had to just make some aggressive passes in the infiield,” Odom said of his ride through from outside the top five.Pole sitter Joshua Day crashed in the first turn of the race after making contact with Dustin Dominquez.

SuperSport1. Tyler Odom (Honda)2. Joey Pascarella (Yamaha)3. James Wikle (Suzuki)4. Kyle Wyman (Yamaha)5. Matthew Sadowski (Yamaha)6. Christopher Clark (Yamaha)7. Clint Shobert (Honda)8. Ryan Clay (Yamaha)9. Reese Wacker (Suzuki)10. Kyle Keesee (Yamaha)

Paul Carruthers | Editor

Paul Carruthers took over as the editor of Cycle News in 1993 after serving as associate editor since starting his career at the publication in 1985. Carruthers has covered every facet of the sport in his near-28-year tenure at America's Daily Motorcycle News Source.