Bobbitt Wins Enduro Opener: UPDATED

| January 27, 2009

Current National Enduro Champion Russell Bobbitt took the overall win in the opening round of the AMA/Rekluse National Enduro Series Presented By Moose Racing Series held in Sumter, South Carolina, yesterday. The KTM factory backed Bobbitt finished 1 minute 49 seconds ahead of GNCC rider Charles Mullins, for a score of 32:49. It was a close race from the start and both riders found themselves swapping the lead. Bobbitt had the nod at the gas stop but by the end of the race both riders would each win three sections. Mullins would end the day with a 33:33. The course was sandy and tight with lots of virgin trail. Rain the day before created near perfect conditions aside from the temperatures hovering in the 40’s most of the day.

Bobbit had a near flawless ride for most of the enduro, but an encounter with a stump in third gear nearly cost him the win. He limped out of the final two miles with a blown shock and a bruised shoulder.

Rounding out the podium was another GNCC rider Cory Buttrick who finished three points from Bobbitt. The young KTM rider found himself mixing it up early with Bobbitt and Mullins. KTM rider Shane Watts put in a good ride for fourth with a score of 36.

Rounding out the top five was last years winner Mike Lafferty. Lafferty found himself slightly off pace in the early goings of the race. After the gas he picked things up but just wasn’t able to make up the time. He finished with a 36.

The SERMA sponsored race was a sellout with the 600 rider limit being reached weeks before the event. The National Enduro Promoters group has had huge success with the electronic scoring. The scoring at this race was spot on, and the trophies handed out quickly.

1. Russell Bobbitt

2. Charles Mullins

3. Cory Buttrick

4. Shane Watts

5. Michael Lafferty

6. Kalib Russell

7. Wallace Palmer

8. Brad Bakken

9. Cole Kirkpatrick

10. Jason Greer

By Freelance