AMA Announces National Hot Shoe Series Schedule

Press Release | January 16, 2009
From their headquarters in Daytona Beach, Florida, AMA Pro Racing today announced the eight event schedule for the 13th annual National Hot Shoe Series.

“We are excited to have put together a National Hot Shoe Series that is attractive for our fans, riders and teams,” said Mike Kidd, Director of Flat Track for AMA Pro Racing. “This series is extremely important to our long-term growth plans and we will continue to look for new tracks and markets to show off this great form of racing.”

Although the National Hot Shoe may be the little brother to the AMA Pro Grand National Series, riders like Joe Kopp, Chris Carr, Kenny Coolbeth, along with many other top AMA Pro Flat Track stars often compete in this series, producing some of the most intense and exciting racing to be found.

The season will kick off on February 28 at Oglethorpe Speedway in Savannah, Ga., a track that many riders consider to be the best half-mile track in the nation. The following day will see the series run at Volusia Speedway Park in Barberville, Fla., giving the riders back-to-back National Hot Shoe events as they head to Daytona’s Bike Week.

Each round of the series will carry a minimum $10,000 purse and will feature four classes: Expert Twins, Expert Singles, Pro Twins and Pro Singles.

New for 2009 will be Pro licensed riders, which formerly competed under the Pro Sport license, racing on the big twin motorcycles and gaining valuable exposure, experience and advancement points toward their Expert License.

Expert riders take the National Hot Shoe very seriously, looking not only for a payday but also to fine tune their Grand National twin’s equipment. Last year’s Savannah Expert Twins main event was won by Chris Carr, with Rob Pearson taking the win in the main event at Volusia Speedway Park.

2009 AMA Pro National Hot Shoe Series Schedule

February 28 – Savannah, Ga. – Oglethorpe Speedway Park

March 1 – Barberville, Fla. – Volusia Speedway Park

May 30 – Quincy, Ill. – Quincy Raceway

June 6 – LaMonte, Mo. – L A Raceway

June 14 – Peoria, Ill. – Peoria Race Park

July 4 – Frederick, Md. – Frederick Fairgrounds

July 24 – Elkins, W. Va. – Elkins Speedway

August 28 – Gas City, Ind. – Gas City I-69 Speedway

By Press Release