Bobbitt Wins Enduro Title With Second-Place Finish In Arizona

Shan Moore | October 20, 2008

Michael Lafferty turned in one of his best performances of the year en route to the overall win at the final round of the AMA/FMF National Enduro Series in Wickenburg, Arizona, this weekend. However, it was Lafferty’s Red Bull KTM teammate Russell Bobbitt who left Arizona with the series title after finishing second in the rocky, high-desert event.

Bobbitt came into the event with a narrow lead over Lafferty in the series standings and needed to finish at least fifth if Lafferty were to take the win. However, Bobbitt got off to a relatively slow start in the first group of sections and was sitting in sixth position after the first two checks. Meanwhile, Lafferty started strong and stayed strong, and shared the top position on the leader board with Texas KTM rider Cole Kirkpatrick and ZipTy Racing’s Ty Davis after two checks.

But as the day got tougher and hotter, Bobbitt picked up the pace and began making his way to the front, eventually settling into second position, ahead of Kirkpatrick, where the two riders would stay for the duration of the event.

Lafferty’s overall win was bittersweet as he capped off a frustrating, injury-filled year with a solid victory, his fifth of the year. Bobbitt, on the other hand, was happy to regain his title, especially in a year that tested the riders with a broad range of terrain over a 10-race event.

Kirkpatrick finished out the year in third overall with his third place finish in Arizona. Kirkpatrick’s season included two overall wins.

Finishing fourth in Arizona was unknown Idaho rider Derek Mahoney. The Arizona race was Mahoney’s second-ever enduro race, though he admitted he rides a lot of single-track trail.

Hare Scrambles racer Quinn Cody finished fifth, ahead of Steve Hatch, who lives in nearby Scottsdale, and Davis.


1. Michael Lafferty (KTM)

2. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)

3. Cole Kirkpatrick (KTM)

4. Derek Mahoney (Hon)

5. Quinn Cody (HON)

6. Steve Hatch (KTM)

7. Ty Davis (Suz)

8. Bryan Bruning (Kaw)

9. Clifford Ousley (KTM)

10. Tim Hillsamer (KTM)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.