Blazusiak Takes Thrilling Endurocross Win In Ohio

Shan Moore | October 4, 2008

COLUMBUS, OH, OCT. 4: Just seven weeks out from a devastating injury to his face, KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak held off a late charge by Geoff Aaron to take a thrilling victory at round five of the AMA Maxxis EnduroCross Series at the Schottenstein Center in Columbus, Ohio, tonight.

At the start of the eight-lap main event, Ricky Dietrich vaulted to the front of the pack, knowing full well a good finish would secure him the series points since Kawasaki teammate Damon Huffman had failed to qualify for the final.

Huffman came into the Ohio race leading in the series standings, but got off on the wrong foot with a poor qualifying time earlier in the day and then later dislocated his finger in his heat race.

Dietrich held the lead until lap three, when Blazusiak, who had fell in the first turn, went by him in the rock section. Aaron also got by Dietrich, moving his All-Wheel-Drive Christini into second at the halfway mark.

In the closing laps, Aaron gained on Blazusiak, and briefly took the lead in the rocks, but Blazusiak retaliated and took the checkers with Aaron less than a bike-length behind.

Dietrich held on for third while KTM’s Mike Brown and Lucas Oil KTM rider Colton Haaker rounded out the top five.

With only one race remaining on the schedule, the finale on November 22 in Las Vegas, Dietrich now leads Huffman by 10 points, 111 to 101.

Haaker sits in third overall with 86, closely followed by Blazusiak with 81.


1. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM)

2. Geoff Aaron (Chr)

3. Ricky Dietrich (Kaw)

4. Mike Brown (KTM)

5. Colton Haaker (KTM)

6. Cory Grafunder (KTM)

7. Kyle Calderini (Hon)

8. Patrick Smage (KTM)

9. Nick Brozovich (Suz)

10. Jamie Lanza (Kaw)

11. Phil Smage (KTM)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.