Philippaerts Takes MX1 World Title

Press Release | September 15, 2008

The SIDI Grand Prix of Città di Faenza put a full stop on the MX1 and MX2 World Championships throughout an extremely emotional event, September 14.

The 30000 home fans celebrated David Philippaerts’ MX1 World title at the end of a hard fought Grand Prix characterized by mixed weather conditions. Max Nagl won his maiden Grand Prix courtesy of a double-heat win. Ken de Dycker and Jonathan Barragan rounded off the podium. Steve Ramon and De Dycker ended second and third respectively in the MX1 Championship.

In the MX2 class it was another crowd explosion when Tyla Rattray wrapped up his maiden MX2 title at the end of the opening moto. Rattray even mounted on the GP podium in second place behind overall winner Tommy Searle. The latter ended second in the Championship with Nicolas Aubin rounding off the top three.

It was an intense day in Italy for Max Nagl and David Philippaerts; the Red Bull KTM Factory Racing rider took his maiden start to finish victory in heat one and went on to take another one in heat two ending with the first GP win under his belt.

On the other hand, David Philippaerts of Yamaha Monster Motocross rode two strong heats and despite he could not enter the top three overall he was crowned MX1 World Champion in front of his home crowd. Philippaerts became the first ever Italian to win an MX1 title, as the last Italian to have won a title in the top class was Alex Puzar in 1990 (250cc).

After taking second in heat one, Teka Suzuki WMX1’s Ken de Dycker moved up to second in the Championship but could not hold teammate Steve Ramon’s challenge in heat two, as he dropped back to third behind Ramon, though De Dycker brought home a podium courtesy of a strong recovery in heat two.

AXO KTM Silver Action’s Jonathan Barragan brought the factory bike home in third courtesy of two fourth places in the heats.

Ramon was fourth overall ahead of Philippaerts.

Sebastien Pourcel had a tough day. In heat one, some green net tangled up in his back wheel and forced him off for three laps. In heat two, he crashed several times.

Top five MX1 overall: 1. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 50 points; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 38 p.; 3. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 36 p.; 4. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 32 p.; 5. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 32 p.


Tommy Searle did his best to take his World title chance and close in on Red Bull KTM Factory Racing teammate Tyla Rattray. Searle went on to win both heats and the overall, but a solid ride by Rattray in heat one saw the South African become World Champion after the first checkered flag of the day.

Rattray took another podium with second overall, as Champ KTM’s Joel Roelants mounted on his first career podium courtesy of a fantastic final moto which he finished in second.’s Zach Osborne had a bad start in the opening moto but made up for it with a solid ride in third place at heat two. He was fourth overall ahead of Molson Kawasaki’s Stephen Sword.

Shaun Simpson and Nicolas Aubin rounded off the top seven as the Frenchman defended the third place in the Championship from Simpson.

After a promising first heat Anthony Boissiere crashed and DNF’d in heat two. After today’s solid performance, the Frenchman will stand in for injured Steven Frossard at the Red Bull MXoN in two weeks at Donington.

Top five MX2 overall: 1. Tommy Searle (GBR, KTM), 50 points; 2. Tyla Rattray (RSA, KTM), 40 p.; 3. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), 35 p.; 4. Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha), 34 p.; 5. Stephen Sword (GBR, Kawasaki), 34 p.


MX1: 1. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 509 points; 2. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 495 p.; 3. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 490 p.; 4. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 455 p.; 5. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 446 p.; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 444 p.; 7. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 392 p.; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, Kawasaki), 352 p.; 9. Billy Mackenzie (GBR, Honda), 320 p.; 10. Marc de Reuver (NED, Honda), 292 p.

MX2: 1. Tyla Rattray (RSA, KTM), 636 points; 2. Tommy Searle (GBR, KTM), 613 p.; 3. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), 406 p.; 4. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 394 p.; 5. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 380 p.; 6. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 357 p.; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Suzuki), 307 p.; 8. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, KTM), 299 p.; 9. Stephen Sword (GBR, Kawasaki), 291 p.; 10. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 289 p.

By Press Release