Bostrom Crowned

Paul Carruthers | September 28, 2008
MONTEREY, CA, SEPT. 28 – Ben Bostrom only needed to finish 17th if Jake Zemke were to win today’s Supersport final at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Bostrom did what he needed to do, going for victory and only coming up .231 of a second short at the finish line. Zemke, meanwhile, was off the pace and could do no better than fifth, giving Bostrom his first-ever AMA Supersport Championship to go with the Superbike Championship he won in 1998.

The win today went to Team M4 EMGO Suzuki’s Blake Young, the GSX-R600 rider pushing his teammate Martin Cardenas off the track on the entrance turn six on the final lap to take over the top spot. Despite pressure from Bostrom in the final corner, Young was able to hold on to score the win.

Third place went to Bostrom’s Graves Yamaha’s teammate Josh Herrin with Herrin passing Attack Kawasaki’s Chaz Davies on the final lap after coming through from a bad start in the red-flag interrupted race. Zemke ended up fifth ahead of Team M4 EMGO Suzuki’s Cory West.

Seventh went to Tommy Aquino with Bobby Fong, Cardenas and Michael Beck rounding out the top 10.

The race was red flagged on the eighth lap when Nicky Moore crashed between turns five and six after colliding with another rider. Moore escaped without injury.

600 Supersport

1. Blake Young (Suzuki)

2. Ben Bostrom (Yamaha)

3. Josh Herrin (Yamaha)

4. Chaz Davies (Kawasaki)

5. Jake Zemke (Honda)

6. Cory West (Suzuki)

7. Tommy Aquino (Yamaha)

8. Bobby Fong (Suzuki)

9. Martin Cardenas (Suzuki)

10. Michael Beck (Yamaha)

Paul Carruthers | Editor

Paul Carruthers took over as the editor of Cycle News in 1993 after serving as associate editor since starting his career at the publication in 1985. Carruthers has covered every facet of the sport in his near-28-year tenure at America's Daily Motorcycle News Source.