Barragan Takes Third Straight In Belgium

Press Release | August 4, 2008

Jonathan Barragan took his third consecutive GP win in Belgium courtesy of an incredible performance on the sand, while Estonian Gert Krestinov wrapped up his maiden GP win after having just celebrated his 18th birthday.

In this final round of the Veterans’ World Cup, Toine van Dijk won the overall, but the World Cup winner was home rider Peter Iven, third on today’s podium behind Jan Blancquaert. MX1

AXO KTM Silver Action’s Jonathan Barragan is on a roll in this final part of the season, as he took his third consecutive win – fourth of the season – yesterday in Lommel. The Spaniard won the final moto and took second in the first one, where Martin Honda’s Marc de Reuver put together a fantastic performance to finish first. The second moto was tougher for the Dutchman who crashed when he was at the lead, handing it to Barragan and Max Nagl of Red Bull KTM Factory Racing. The latter was a solid third on the podium right behind Teka Suzuki WMX1’s Ken de Dycker. De Reuver and new series leader Steve Ramon rounded off the top five, as David Philippaerts ended a bad day in 10th place.

Top five overall: 1. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 47 points; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 40 p.; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 37 p.; 4. Marc de Reuver (NED, Honda), 36 p.; 5. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 34 p. MX2 Gert Krestinov, of Favor KTM Motorsport, took his maiden GP victory after winning the final heat. Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Rui Goncalves stood on the second step of the podium for the first time in his career, as he finished even on points with the Estonian. Teammate Tommy Searle was third overall despite three crashes in the final moto, and Tyla Rattray, who also crashed in the final heat, was fourth despite winning moto one. Champ KTM teammates Jeremy van Horebeek and Joel Roelants rounded out the top six, as Ricci Racing Yamaha’s Nicolas Aubin was seventh.

Top five overall: 1. Gert Krestinov (EST, KTM), 38 points; 2. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 38 p.; 3. Tommy Searle (GBR, KTM), 37 p.; 4. Tyla Rattray (RSA, KTM), 36 p.; 5. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, KTM), 35 p.

In The World Championship Points Standings


Philippaerts lost the championship lead for the first time since he took the red plate in Portugal. As he dropped down to second, Ramon took the lead and Coppins remained third. De Dycker and Barragan round out a close top five with a maximum gap of 31 points from the top.

Top 10: 1. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 362 points; 2. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 360 p.; 3. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 345 p.; 4. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 336 p.; 5. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 331 p.; 6. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 306 p.; 7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 290 p.; 8. Billy Mackenzie (GBR, Honda), 257 p.; 9. Tanel Leok (EST, Kawasaki), 245 p.; 10. Marc de Reuver (NED, Honda), 214 p.

Rattray is still on top of the MX2 Championship, with Searle following from a 20-point distance. Injured Cairoli is third with Simpson and Goncalves rounding off the top five, respectively. Krestinov moved from 26th to 19th.

Top 10: 1. Tyla Rattray (RSA, KTM), 452 points; 2. Tommy Searle (GBR, KTM), 432 p.; 3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 357 p.; 4. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 312 p.; 5. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 279 p.; 6. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), 274 p.; 7. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, KTM), 232 p.; 8. Xavier Boog (FRA, Suzuki), 224 p.; 9. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 215 p.; 10. Manuel Monni (ITA, Yamaha), 203 p.

FIM Veterans’ World Cup

Toine van Dijk, the winner of the opening round in Bellpuig, took the final round of the Veterans’ World Cup, as he won both motos at Lommel. The Dutchman topped the overall from home riders Jan Blancquaert and Peter Iven, who became the eventual World Cup series winner. Blancquaert took two second places as an injured Iven, who had a torn muscle in his arm – was third twice. British countrymen Greg Hanson and Dave Thorpe rounded off the top five.

Top five overall: 1. Toine van Dijk (NED, Suzuki), 50 points; 2. Jan Blancquaert (BEL, Kawasaki), 44 p.; 3. Peter Iven (BEL, Kawasaki), 40 p.; 4. Greg Hanson (GBR, CCM), 34 p.; 5. Dave Thorpe (GBR, Honda), 34 p.

Top five final: 1. Peter Iven (BEL, Kawasaki), 122 points; 2. Toine van Dijk (NED, Suzuki), 117 p.; 3. Dave Thorpe (GBR, Honda), 102 p.; 4. Jan Blancquaert (BEL, Kawasaki), 100 p.; 5. Greg Hanson (GBR, CCM), 85 p.

By Press Release