85cc Mini Invitation Race Returns

Press Release | August 28, 2008

The Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open announced today the return of the 85cc Mini Invitation race, featuring the nation’s top 12 minicycle racers from the 85cc 12-13 Stock Class at the AMA Air Nautiques Amateur National Championship Finals at Loretta Lynn Ranch that will take place inside Las Vegas’ MGM Grand Garden Arena October 10-12. Led by 85cc 12-13 Stock Class champion Joey Savatagy, of Thomasville, Ga., this class will showcase the future stars of supercross. Also earning podium finishes in this class at the AMA Air Nautiques Amateur National Championship Finals were Kody Kamm, of Kenosha, Wis., and Matthew Bisceglia, of Weatherford, Texas, who finished second and third respectively. The 85cc Mini Invitational started at the inaugural U.S. Open in 1998, and during those years a majority of today’s top riders held a spot on the starting gate. Past competitors at the 85cc Mini Invitational at the Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open include Mike Alessi, James Stewart, Jason Lawrence, Ryan Dungey, Ryan Villopoto, Davi Millsaps, Josh Hill, Trey Canard, Nico Izzi and more. “We are very happy to once again invite the best 85cc riders in the world to compete in the Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open,” said Dave Prater, Director of Supercross, Live Nation Motor Sports, Inc. “The list of past participants in the 85cc Mini Invitational reads like a who’s who of professional supercross. James Stewart, Ryan Villopoto, Mike Alessi, Josh Hill, Trey Canard, and Nico Izzi, to name a few, have all competed on 85cc machines at the MGM Grand Garden Arena. This year’s field promises to be just as packed with supercross’ future stars.” Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open 85cc Mini Invitational Starting Line Up: Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga., Honda Kody Kamm, Kenosha, Wis., KTM Matthew Bisceglia, Weatherford, Texas, Yamaha Richard Grey, Keswick, ON, KTM Jessy Nelson, Templeton, Calif., Honda Michael Maze, Tulare, Calif., Suzuki Tyler Stewart, West Monroe, La., Yamaha Dillan Epstein, Agoura, Calif., KTM Jackson Richardson, Cairns, Australia, KTM Austin Politelli, Wildomar, Calif., Suzuki Brandon Pope, Spring Grove, Ill., Yamaha Chris Alldredge, Powell Butte, Ore., Yamaha

By Press Release