Stewart and Villopoto Sweep High Point

Shan Moore | June 15, 2008

It was a good day for green motorcycles at High Point Raceway, today, as Monster Energy Kawasaki riders James Stewart and Ryan Villopoto continued their dominance of the Monster Energy AMA Motocross Series at Mt. Morris, Pennsylvania.

In the Motocross class, Stewart remained perfect on the year, winning his seventh- and eighth-straight motos of the season for his fourth overall victory. Meanwhile, Villopoto also went 1-1, topping Geico Powersports Honda’s Jake Weimer and Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey for his third overall win of the season.

Hard rain on Saturday forced the cancellation of practice for the Motocross class, but the Coombs family and the NPG did a great job of grooming the track for today’s race, which took place under beautiful skies.

In both Motocross-class motos, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Mike Alessi grabbed both holeshots, winning the Holeshot awards each time. And in each race he eventually gave way to the hard-charging Stewart, although at one point Alessi put up a good fight, re-passing Stewart in a rutted area of the track. But the pass was short-lived and Stewart eventually rode off to two easy wins.

Alessi was all by himself in second at the end of each moto, while Red Bull Honda’s Davi Millsaps ended up with third overall after finishing with with two thirds.

“I was just happy to make it out of this weekend,” said Stewart. “My record here isn’t too good, I’ve always struggled here. The Coombs family and John Ayers did a great job in getting the track ready. The changes to the track were awesome. This is so far the best track of the year and I also think it was safest track.”

Over the last three events, Villopoto has been dominant in the AMA Motocross Lites class. Today, he battled his way to the front in each moto, running away from the field once he reached the top spot to further extend his lead in the points standings.

Geico Powersports Honda’s Jake Weimer put in a career-best performance, finishing second overall despite falling in the early stages of the first moto.

Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey also overcame a fall in the first moto to claim third overall with a 6-2 finish.

With their overall wins, Stewart and Villopoto put themselves in line for the $25,000 bonus that is awarded to the rider in each class that wins all three events in the Monster Energy/Kawasaki Triple Crown of Motocross. High Point was the first of three races that make up the Monster Energy/Kawasaki Triple Crown, with RedBud and Steel City remaining on the schedule.

Motocross (Overall)

1. James Stewart (Kaw)

2. Mike Alessi (Suz)

3. Davi Millsaps (Hon)

4. Timmy Ferry (Kaw)

5. Andrew Short (Hon)

6. Nick Wey (KTM)

7. Sean Hamblin (Yam)

8. Cody Cooper (Suz)

9. Josh Hill (Yam)

10. Michael Byrne (Suz)

Lites (Overall)

1. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)

2. Jake Weimer (Hon)

3. Ryan Dungey (Suz)

4. Austin Stroupe (Kaw)

5. Brett Metcalfe (Kaw)

6. Ryan Sipes (KTM)

7. Matt Goerke (KTM)

8. Nico Izzi (Suz)

9. Dan Reardon (Hon)

10. Jake Moss Yam)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.