S. Pourcel, Searle Win French GP

Press Release | June 16, 2008

A very busy Grand Prix of France, hosting 30,000 spectators throughout the sunny weekend, concluded yesterday, June 15.

Home rider Sebastien Pourcel took victory in the MX1 class for the joy of the home crowd, while Tommy Searle completed a clean sweep in MX2, winning both heats and taking the red plate.

Steffi Laier got another double-moto win in round three of the Women’s World Championship.

Despite starting from ninth on the grid, GPKR’s Sebastien Pourcel took two moto victories to win his first French GP. Joshua Coppins of Yamaha Monster Motocross came back to the podium courtesy of two runner-up finishes, while teammate and current series leader David Philippaerts had a bad day and ended 18th. AXO KTM Silver Action’s Jonathan Barragan rounded off the podium, while Teka Suzuki WMX1’s Steve Ramon and Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Max Nagl completed the top five.

Top five overall MX1:

1. Sebastien Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki), 50 points; 2. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 44 p.; 3. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 35 p.; 4. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 30 p.; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 29 p.

A few days after his 19th birthday, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Tommy Searle put together a dominant performance by taking both the overall victory and the red plate in the MX2 class. Teammate Tyla Rattray was second on the podium despite being involved in a hard first-moto crash, where Antonio Cairoli ruined his day. The Sicilian broke his fuel tank and DNF’d, compromising the overall result and ending 10th.

A surprising KTM HDI MX’s Antony Boissiere completed the podium, as he took his second career rostrum finish – the first podium came in 2005 at St. Jean. Boissiere took the Goldentire tubeless rubbers to the podium for their first time. Suzuki Inotec’s Xavier Boog and AXO KTM Silver Action’s Jeremy Tarroux completed the top five.

Top five overall MX2:

1. Tommy Searle (GBR, KTM), 50 points; 2. Tyla Rattray (RSA, KTM), 37 p.; 3. Anthony Boissiere (FRA, KTM), 35 p.; 4. Xavier Boog (FRA, Suzuki), 32 p.; 5. Jeremy Tarroux (FRA, KTM), 30 p.

By Press Release