Reed Takes The Win And The Title In Vegas

Shan Moore | May 3, 2008

Chad Reed wrapped up the Monster Energy AMA Supercross title with a come-from-behind win in the final of tonight’s Supercross-class main event at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas.

Reed needed only to finish sixth or better to claim the title if championship rival Kevin Windham took the win, but the San Manuel Yamaha rider wanted to make a point and worked his way through traffic after a mid-pack start to take the win and the title.

Davi Millsaps grabbed the holeshot ahead of Windham to start the final, and the two Honda riders battled for the lead for three laps before Millsaps finally went down, allowing Windham some breathing room at the front.

Reed was sixth at the end of the opening lap, but quickly moved his way up through the ranks and on lap 14 made a pass on Windham to take the lead.

Windham stayed with Reed for a few laps before finally dropping off the pace and at the finish was some six seconds behind Reed, while Honda rider Andrew Short finished third another four seconds back.

Reed claimed the championship by 13 points over Windham (365 to 352) with Short taking third with 281.

“I worked my butt of this year,” said Reed. “I had a new bike this year, and that made my job a lot easier. It has been a great season for me this year. This is very special. It was unfortunate that James Stewart, the defending champion, got hurt, but this was a great year for us.”

Millsaps worked his way back up to fifth at the finish, but dropped from third to fourth in the series standings behind Short.

Top privateer honors and 10th overall in the series went to Paul Carpenter with a 12th overall finish in tonight’s race.

Reed’s mechanic, Oscar Wirdeman, was awarded a 2008 Toyota Tundra truck as the season’s top mechanic.


1. Chad Reed (Yam)

2. Kevin Windham (Hon)

3. Andrew Short (Hon)

4. Josh Hill (Yam)

5. Davi Millsaps (Hon)

6. Nick Wey (KTM)

7. Josh Summey (Yam)

8. Travis Preston (Kaw)

9. Timmy Ferry (Kaw)

10. David Vuillemin

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.