May Gets His First

Henny Ray Abrams | May 31, 2008

TOOELE, UTAH: Jordan Suzuki’s Geoff May won his first AMA Superstock final with a dominant ride in the race at Miller Motorsports Park in Tooele, Utah, with teammate Aaron Yates giving the team a one-two punch by finishing second. May took control on the second lap and was never headed. His lead grew to 2.798 seconds on the third lap and he kept it in that range to the finish. At the flag it was 2.553 seconds. Because it was May’s first win of any kind, it was his first for the Jordan Suzuki team. Teammate Yates has two wins this year. Yates battled M4 EMGO Suzuki’s Blake Young and Corona Extra Honda’s Jake Holden on the opening lap. But Young was docked a stop-and-go penalty for jumping the start and served it ending lap three. That put him well down the field. He recovered to finish 11th. Yates stalked Holden before making his move on the brakes entering the first turn on the seventh of nine laps. With a clear track ahead he gapped Holden quickly, the difference being 2.694 seconds at the end. Yates continues to lead the Superstock championship with 170 points, to 156 for Holden, after five of 12 races. May sits third with 141. The rest of the order was somewhat processional. Chris Peris was a distant fourth with plenty on David Anthony in fifth. Superstock: 1. Geoff May (Suzuki) 2. Aaron Yates (Suzuki) 3. Jake Holden (Honda) 4. Chris Peris (Suzuki) 5. David Anthony (Suzuki) 6. Robertino Pietri (Suzuki) 7. Chris Ulrich (Suzuki) 8. Ryan Elleby (Suzuki) 9. Ben Thompson (Suzuki) 10. Hawk Mazzotta (Suzuki)

Henny Ray Abrams | Contributing Editor

Abrams is the longest-serving contributor at Cycle News. Over the course of his 35-some years of writing and shooting photos, he’s covered events from MotoGP to the Motocross World Championship - and everything in between.