Reed Tops Dallas SX

Shan Moore | April 5, 2008

Chad Reed picked up his eighth win of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series tonight before 46,656 fans at Texas Stadium, in Dallas, Texas.

The San Manuel Yamaha rider moved into the lead on the second of 20 laps, passing Kawasaki’s Travis Preston (who earned the $1,500 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award) and Yamaha’s Josh Hill, and then slowly pulled away to another solid win. The victory extended Reed’s cushion in the series standings to 27 points over Torco Racing Fuels Honda’s Kevin Windham, who just missed the podium with a fourth place finish behind runner-up finisher Hill and Honda’s Davi Millsaps, who put in an impressive rider for third.

The win was Reed’s fourth at Texas Stadium and 34th AMA Supercross victory of his career.

“I feel like I’ve given a lot of wins away this year so I just wanted to go out there and put in a good ride,” said Reed. “I tried to get to the front as quick as possible and let those guys fight it out. This was a track that you had to stay on your toes and watch to not make mistakes.”

Kawasaki’s Timmy Ferry proved that he is almost back to form with a fifth, while Honda’s Andrew Short took sixth after being crowded out in the first turn.

In the Lites division, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto grabbed his second win in a row, after passing Torco Racing Fuels Honda’s Josh Grant on lap two.

Once out front, Villopoto avoided lapped traffic and cruised to an easy victory, while Grant finished second ahead of KTM’s Martin Davalos.

Series points leader Trey Canard got tangled up in first-lap traffic and dropped to the back of the pack, although he quickly remounted and charged through the field to finish fourth.

“Josh and I had a good race going there for a while and I think he stalled his bike in the corner there and I got around him,” said Villopoto. “(Trey) had a whole race lead on me (in the points coming into this race). I was hoping for that mistake. He didn’t have a very good race tonight and that’s what I need. I need some help to get back in this points race. I have try and win, get good starts and try and make that points gap smaller heading into Detroit.”

AMA Supercross Class Results

1. Chad Reed (Yam)

2. Josh Hill (Yam)

3. Davi Millsaps (Hon)

4. Kevin Windham (Hon)

5. Tim Ferry (Kaw)

6. Andrew Short (Hon)

7. Charles Summey (Yam)

8. Paul Carpenter (Hon)

9. Troy Adams (Hon)

10. Travis Preston (Kaw)

AMA Supercross Lites Class Results

1. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)

2. Josh Grant (Hon)

3. Martin Davalos (KTM)

4. Trey Canard (Hon)

5. Tyler Bowers (Yam)

6. Ryan Morais (Yam)

7. Nico Izzi (Suzuki)

8. Branden Jesseman (Kaw)

9. Matt Goerke (KTM)

10. Billy Payne (Hon)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.