Johnson Doubles Daytona

Larry Lawrence | March 6, 2008
DAYTONA BEACH, FL, MAR 6: Jake Johnson became the first rider to sweep both nights of the AMA Grand National Singles Championship doubleheader at Municipal Stadium.

Johnson, the 2006 Grand National Singles champ, got the holeshot on his factory Suzuki RM-Z450-based short track machine and never looked back. The Franklinville, N.J.-based rider went on to a convincing 5.394-second margin of victory over fellow Suzuki rider JR Schnabel just as rain began to fall.

Bryan Smith, riding a Bill Werner-prepped Kawasaki, held off a determined charge by defending series champ Kenny Coolbeth for third.

“Coming out of here with a pair of wins is better than I could have hoped for,” Johnson said. “Everything just fell into place so well. I want to keep this momentum going and get this championship back from Kenny. I had to hang with him this winter to find out his secrets.”

With the victory Johnson opens an 11-point lead over Schnabel in the standings after two rounds. Coolbeth is in third, a single point behind Schnabel.


1. Jake Johnson, Franklinville, N.J., Suzuki.

2. JR Schnabel, Campbellsport, Wis., Suzuki.

3. Bryan Smith, Flushing, Mich., Kawasaki.

4. Ken Coolbeth, Morris, Conn., Honda.

5. Henry Wiles, Blanchard, Mich., Kawasaki.

6. Brandan Bergen, Fresno, Calif., Honda.

7. Joe Kopp, Mica, Wash., Honda.

8. John Raun Wood, Perkasie, Pa., Honda.

9. Matt Burton, Ottumwa, Iowa, Yamaha.

10. Nick Cummings, Mount Morris, Mich., Honda.

11. Brock Schwarzenbacher, Beaver Dam, Wis., Honda.

12. Bryan Bigelow, Omer, Mich., Suzuki.

13. Don Taylor, Canada, Honda.

14. Brandon Lee Robinson, Oxford, Pa., Honda.

15. A.J. Eslick, Tulsa, Okla., Suzuki.

16. Mike Rush, Gilroy, Calif., Kawasaki.

Larry Lawrence | Archives Editor

In addition to writing our Archives section on a weekly basis, Lawrence is another who is capable of covering any event we throw his way.