Reed, Lawrence Continue Win Streaks

Jean Turner | February 10, 2008

Chad Reed won yet again, this time at San Diego’s Qualcomm Stadium at round six of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross FIM World Championship. But it was far from a run-away victory for the San Manuel Yamaha rider. In fact, San Diego was host to one of the most exciting Supercross class battles we’ve seen in a long time.

Red Bull Honda’s Davi Millsaps got the holeshot in the Supercross class main event, but Reed didn’t waste time getting into the lead. Millsaps gave Reed a good run for his money, however, and the two diced it up for a couple laps before Reed was able to get the race under control. It wasn’t until the late laps of the race when Reed fell in the sandy turn after the finish line jump, and Millsaps was able to take the lead once again.

The crowd went nuts as the two went at it once again, dicing for the lead. Although Millsaps didn’t make it easy for him, Reed regained control of the race and took yet another win.

“I am so happy to get this win,” said Reed. “I have never won all of the races in California, and with this win tonight, I accomplished a new goal. I get to leave the west coast with a big points lead.”

While Millsaps and Reed mixed it up with each other, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Tim Ferry was closing in. He had worked his way around Red Bull Honda’s Andrew Short, and ultimately got around Millsaps for second place. Millsaps held on for third ahead of Short and Kevin Windham. Josh Hill, David Vuillemin, Nathan Ramsey, Nick Wey and Jason Thomas rounded out the top ten.

Lites Jason Lawrence of the Boost Mobile Yamaha of Troy team extended his win streak to three in San Diego, marking his third career win. J-Law proved that it’s never over because despite his disastrous night at Anaheim II where he scored no points, he is now in control of the Lites points lead.

“I came into the first turn and had an open track in front of me,” said Lawrence. “I’m excited to take over the points lead heading into Houston next weekend.”

Lawrence needed to not only win the race, but he also needed Dungey to have a bad night. Unfortunately for Dungey, he did just that. For the second round in a row, things didn’t go well for the Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider.

Lawrence grabbed the Progressive Holeshot award, and from there, simply checked out and was never headed on his way to the finish. Tommy Hahn of the Motosport Xtreme Kawaski team quickly settled into second, where he finished, matching his career best performance. Team Solitaire’s Bobby Kiniry had a fantastic night, finishing on the podium for the first time, running third throughout the race, where he finished.

There weren’t many positions changing hands in the Lites main event, but the race to watch was Dungey’s as he came through the pack. The Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider, who came into the round with the points lead, went over the bars in the whoops and fell back into the pack again. He made good progress only to crash once again on the last lap, losing another position. He ultimately finished sixth, enough to let Lawrence leave San Diego with a two-point lead in the series.

Brett Metcalfe and Justin Brayton rounded out the top five in the Lites, while Dungey, Austin Stroupe, Wil Hahn, Michael Lapaglia and Billy Laninovich made up the top ten.

Jean Turner | Contributor

A former staffer at Cycle News, Turner continues to contribute to the website and magazine as a columnist and someone we can count on to whip up a few thousand words on an off-road race when needed.