Canard and Millsaps at Atlanta SX

Shan Moore | February 23, 2008

Davi Millsaps and Trey Canard each claimed firsts at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Georgia, tonight, at round eight of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series. Millsaps put his Red Bull Honda on top of a 450-class podium for the first time after winning the 20-lap feature event ahead of Torco Racing Fuels Honda’s Kevin Windham. Andrew Short made it a three-way Honda sweep in the premier class by finishing third.

In the meantime, Canard won the Lites division in his debut Supercross ride, on his Torco Racing Fuels Honda, taking a wire to wire runaway win.

At the start of the 450 class final, Team San Manuel’s Chad Reed grabbed the early lead and fended off several pass attempts by Millsaps before endoing off of one of the very abrupt jumps situated around the course. At that point, Millsaps took control of the race and rode on to the victory as Windham worked his way up from a poor start to take the runner-up spot.

“I don’t like to take a win like this, but a win is a win,” said Millsaps. “I had a lot of friends and family here tonight, so winning in front of them is huge, especially my first win in this class.”

Reed remounted to finish sixth but was in obvious pain and, according to a family member, went to have his wrist x-rayed after the event.

In the Lites final, Canard won the $1,000 Progressive Holeshot Award with KTM’s Ryan Sipes in tow. Meanwhile, reigning Western Regional AMA Supercross Lites champion, Ryan Villopoto crashed in turn one along with Torco Racing Fuels Honda’s Josh Grant.

On lap six, Villopoto, while working his way through traffic, crashed once again and could not finish the race.

With the laps winding down, KTM’s Martin Davalos passed Sipes to finish second place, behind Canard.

“I do not know what to say right now,” said Cannard. “I have waited my whole life for this, and to get the win means so much to me. “I had a great heat race and was ready for the main.” AMA Supercross Class

1. Davi Millsaps (Hon)

2. Kevin Windham (Hon)

3. Andrew Short (Hon)

4. Tim Ferry (Kaw)

5. Nathan Ramsey (Yam)

6. Chad Reed (Yam)

7. Charles Summey (Yam)

8. Paul Carpenter (Hon)

9. David Vuillemin (Suz)

10. Jason Thomas (Hon)

Eastern Regional AMA Supercross Lites Class

1. Trey Canard (Hon)

2. Martin Davalos (KTM)

3. Ryan Sipes (KTM)

4. Jake Moss (Yam)

5. Tyler Bowers (Yam)

6. Branden Jesseman (Kaw)

7. Josh Grant (Hon)

8. Nico Izzi (Suz)

9. Kyle Chisholm (Kaw)

10. Ben Coisy (Hon)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.