Bobbitt Tops Georgia National Enduro

Shan Moore | February 24, 2008

KTM’s Russell Bobbitt (pictured) claimed his first win of the year at round two of the 2008 AMA FMF Racing National Enduro Series in Greensboro, Georgia, today. Bobbitt, the 2006 series champ, was fast and flawless en route to the win, and topped second place finisher, defending Hare Scrambles Champ Jason Raines, by three points on the slippery, 67-mile course.

The event marked only the second time that Raines has competed in a National Enduro, proving that he has become a force to contend with on the Enduro scene in a very short period of time.

Finishing third was defending and eight-time National Enduro Champion Michael Lafferty, on a KTM. Lafferty suffered through the Georgia event after injuring his wrist earlier in the week and at post time was set to see a doctor on Monday for evaluation.

Fourth went to former ISDE champ Shane Watts, while 17-year-old high school student Brad Bakken rounded out the top five on a KTM.

KTM-mounted Nate Kanney was the surprise of the event, winning several segments of the race and remaining in contention for the overall win until engine problems left him pushing to the paddocks during the fifth test of the day.

The Cherokee Cycle Club-hosted event drew over 500 entries.



1. Russell Bobbitt (KTM)

2. Jason Raines (Yam)

3. Michael Lafferty (KTM)

4. Shane Watts (KTM)

5. Brad Bakken (KTM)

6. Nick Fahringer (HSB)

7. Johnny Barber (KTM)

8. Stephen Edmondson (KTM)

9. Cole Kirkpatrick (KTM)

10. Tom Melik (Yam)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.