Stewart Holds Off Reed To Win Phoenix SX

Shan Moore | January 12, 2008

After finishing second at the opener in Anaheim last weekend, James Stewart got back on the winning track, topping San Manual Yamaha’s Chad Reed on a hard-packed and slippery track to win the second round of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship at Chase Field in Phoenix, Arizona, tonight.

At the start, Rockstar/Makita Suzuki’s Mike Alessi grabbed the holeshot, leading Stewart and Reed through the first turn of the 20-lap final, however Stewart quickly moved his Monster Energy Kawasaki to the front as Alessi made contact with a Tuf-Bloc.

Kawasaki’s Tim Ferry and Red Bull Honda’s Davi Millsaps got the worst of Alessi’s encounter with the track marker as both riders went down, dropping them to the back of the pack. Meanwhile, Stewart and Reed gapped the field in first and second, while Torco Racing Fuels/Honda Kevin Windham and Yamaha’s Grant Langston ran in third and fourth (although, Langston would ultimately drop out with suspension problems).

Up front, Reed remained within striking distance of Stewart, waiting for any kind of mistake to capitalize on, but Stewart never made one and led every lap en route to his first race-win since the Colorado outdoor national way back in July.

Windham held off fellow Honda riders Andrew Short and Ivan Tedesco to take the final podium position, while Alessi managed sixth, despite the fact that he rode most the race with a Tuf-Bloc cover hung on his footpeg.

Reed’s teammate, Nathan Ramsey, finished seventh, while Joe Gibbs Racing’s Josh Hansen and Charles Summey were eighth and ninth, respectively. Meanwhile, Ferry rebounded for 10th.

In the Lites division, Jake Weimer fended off a last-lap bid by Ryan Dungey to win a crazy and action packed final.

Weimer put his Torco Racing Fuels/Honda into the lead at the start of the 15-lap race, but dropped to fourth on lap two as Dungey moved his Rockstar/Makita Suzuki into the lead, followed by Yamaha’s Broc Hepler and Monster/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Bret Metcalfe. Boost Mobile Yamaha’s Jason Lawrence and MDK KTM’s Justin Brayton also joined the front runners for one of the most exciting races in a long time.

With four laps remaining, Weimer worked his way back into the lead, dropping Dungey to second, however, Dungey held tight and was all over Weimer when the duo crossed the finish.

Metcalfe finished third ahead of Hepler and Lawrence.



1. James Stewart (Kaw)

2. Chad Reed (Yam)

3. Kevin Windham (Hon)

4. Andrew Short (Hon)

5. Ivan Tedesco (Hon)

6. Mike Alessi (Suz)

7. Nathan Ramsey (Yam

8. Josh Hansen (Yam)

9. Charles Summey (Yam)

10. Tim Ferry (Kaw)


1. Jake Weimer (Hon)

2. Ryan Dungey (Suz)

3. Bret Metcalfe (Kaw)

4. Broc Hepler (Yam)

5. Jason Lawrence (Yam)

6. Justin Brayton (KTM)

7. Wil Hahn (Yam)

8. Dan Reardon (Hon)

9. Kyle Cunningham (Hon)

10. Billy Laninovich (KTM)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.