Raines Clinches Title

Kit Palmer | October 23, 2007

Am-Pro Yamaha’s Jason Raines wrapped up the AMA National Hare Scrambles title at the final round of the AMA National Hare Scrambles Championship Series in Globe, Arizona, October 22.

Raines battled with Justin Williamson before taking control and riding off with the overall win at the RockStar Classic National, hosted by the Arizona Motorcycle Riders Association.

Williamson ultimately finished sixth, while Yamaha’s Russ Pearson and Beta rider Jordan Brandt joined Raines on the podium. Fourth and fifth went to Arizona’s own Steve Hutch (KTM) and Gary Sutherlin (Kawasaki).

Raines finished out the year with 159 points and four wins, while Williamson ended up second with 145 points and one win. Third went to 2006 Hare Scrambles champ Robbie Jenks (KTM) who tallied 133 points.


2007 AMA Hare Scrambles National Championship Series

Round 10 hosted by Rock Stars MC – October 21, 2007


1.                  Jason Raines, Belfair, WA, YAM

2.                  Russell Pearson, Henderson, NV, YAM

3.                  Jordan Brandt, Salinas, CA, BETA

4.                  Steve Hatch, Scottsdale, AZ, KTM

5.                  Gary Sutherlin, Phoenix, AZ, KAW

6.                  Justin Williamson, Sanford, FL, KTM

7.                  Robbie Jenks, New Straightsville, OH, KTM

8.                  Tim Hillsamer, Mesa, AZ, KTM

9.                  Kyle Beshaw, Glendale, AZ, KAW

10.                  Bryan Bruning, Glendale, AZ, KAW

11.                  Kale Stately, Casa Grande, AZ, HON

12.                  Randall, Fuller, Sierra Vista, AZ, HON

13.                  Cabot Peters, Prescott, AZ, KTM

14.                  Max Gerston, Scottsdale, AZ, KTM

15.                  Geoff Brownell, Phoenix, AZ, YAM

16.                  Pernell Yazzie, Flagstaff, AZ, YAM

17.                  Tim Wussow, Scottsdale, AZ, YAM

18.                  Stuart Hamer, Phoenix, AZ, KTM

19.                  Scott Sedivy, Glendale, AZ, KTM

20.                  Justin Tucker, Medway, MA, YAM

TOP 20 FINAL POINTS STANDINGS (points reflect two less than all meets in series)

Pos., Rider, Hometown, Bike – Points (Wins)

1.                  Jason Raines, Belfair, WA, YAM – 159 (4)

2.                  Justin Williamson, Sanford, FL – 145 (1)

3.                  Robbie Jenks, New Straightsville, OH, KTM – 133

4.                  Barry Hawk, Jr., Smithfield, PA, YAM – 67

5.                  Charles Mullins, Hamilton, OH, YAM – 55 (1)

6.                  Mike Lafferty, Estell Manor, NJ, KTM – 46 (1)

7.                  David Knight, Isle of Mann, UK, KTM – 43 (1)

8.                  Jordan Brandt, Salinas, CA, BET – 42

9.                  Thaddeus Duvall, Williamstown, WV – 38

10.                  John Maier, Meriden, CT, HON – 34

11.                  Garrett Edmisten, Vero Beach, FL – 33

12.                  Ryan Rodgers, Dover, PA, YAM – 33

13.                  Russell Bobbitt, Fayetteville, GA, KTM – 32

14.                  Glenn Kearney, Austrailia – 32

15.                  Charles Huegel, Oil City, PA – 32

16.                  Mark Fortner, Westfield, NY – 31

17.                  Jerod Stoner, Lewisberry, PA, KTM – 31

18.                  Justin Tucker, Medway, MA, YAM – 31

19.                  Jimmy Jarrett, Beloit, OH – 27

20.                  Brian Garrahan, Boulder Cr

Kit Palmer | Off-Road Editor

Kit Palmer started his career at Cycle News in 1984 and he’s been testing dirt and streetbikes every since – plus covering any event that uses some form of a knobby tire. He’s also our resident motorcycle mileage man with a commute of 120 miles a day.