World Title for Blake Wharton

Press Release | August 17, 2007

KTM Junior SX/MX Team rider Blake Wharton added another victory to his list of achievements as he captured the FIM Junior Motocross World Championship on Sunday August 12th.

Blake started the event in his typical dominating fashion by setting the fastest lap time of the day during Saturday’s qualifying. By setting the lead lap time Blake was awarded first gate pick for Sunday’s main event.

The Sevlievo Motocross track, recognized as one of the world’s best motocross tracks due largely in part to its incredible high-speed up and down hills, was the perfect setting for the World Championship race. Wharton astonished the European crowd as he grabbed the holeshot in the first moto and continued to move forward eventually pulling an eight second gap on Great Britain’s second place finisher Stephen Clark.

Blake began the second moto in 8th position which forced him to put his head down and charge through the pack to gain ground on the leader. Blake pushed hard and eventually worked his way up to fourth within the first few laps. It was then that he was able to set his site on leader Alessandro Lupino. Blake again shocked the crowd as he quickly caught the Yamaha rider and secured the pass for the second moto win and overall championship.

“I’m happy to have won both motos,” exclaimed Wharton after winning the championship, “I am thankful for the opportunity to bring home the championship for the USA and KTM.”

A very excited Team Manager, Selvaraj Narayana, stated, “I am proud to have Blake as a member of our team and of his success at this event. Blake is the second American rider to bring home the FIM Motocross World Championship for KTM.”

FIM Junior Motocross World Championship 125cc Results:

1.            Blake Wharton

2.            Alessandro Lupino

3.            Valentin Teillet

4.            Stephen Clark

5.            Klemen Gercar

6.            Andrea Cervellin

7.            Jernej Irt

8.            Karro Matiss

9.            Harri Kullas

10.          Yauheni Tiletski

By Press Release