Trey Canard Earns AMA Horizon Award At Loretta’s

Press Release | August 6, 2007

Trey Canard won the final moto in the MX Lites A class, earning the National number-one plate and the prestigious AMA Horizon Award Saturday at the AMA Air Nautiques Amateur National Motocross Championships at Loretta Lynn’s Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tennessee.

The AMA Horizon Award is given to the amateur racer who shows the most promise for a successful professional career. The 16-year-old from Elk City, Oklahoma, already has a signed contract and begins his pro career next week at the Spring Creek National in Millville, Minnesota. Canard won both the MX Lites A and MX Lites A pro Sport classes.

In accepting the Horizon Award, Canard was both gracious and humble.

“I want to thank everyone for cheering around the track,” Canard said. “I don’t know how much I deserve this. There were four guys out there (who may be just as deserving). I’m thankful.”

Kawasaki rider P.J. Larsen won the Motocross A Championship, while Honda-mounted Ben Evans won the Motocross A Pro Sport class. Other fast notables included KTM’s Blake Wharton who won the Schoolboy (12-15) division, and Suzuki rider Steven Clarke who won the MX Lites Schoolboy (14-16) class.

More than 30 National Championship titles were awarded in ceremonies following the end of racing in the week-long Loretta Lynn’s event.

Kevin Walker of Gray, Tennessee, earned the AMA 2007 Vet/Senior Motocrosser of the Year Award. Gray made Loretta Lynn’s history on Friday by winning his 12th National title, in the Vet 35-Plus class, surpassing the 11 titles won by James Stewart and Mike Alessi. He notched his 13th National number-one plate Saturday in the Junior 25-Plus class.

The AMA named Jason Anderson of Edgewood, New Mexico, the 2007 Youth Motocrosser of the Year. The Rockstar Suzuki rider won all three motos (six in all) in the 85cc (12-13) Stock class.

In other news, Florida’s Adam Cianciarulo came away with a pair of wins in the 85cc (7-11) class aboard his Team Green Kawasaki KXs. Colorado’s Eli Tomac, riding a Suzuki, also went home with dual championships in the (14-15) Modified and Supermini classes.

In the 51cc classes, no one rider flat out dominated, but when all was said and done, three riders earned championships: Adam Bestafka, Jordan Bailey and Mark Worth.

Yamaha rider Tarah Gieger, however, pretty much dominated the Women’s class after going 1-1-2 over the week. KTM’s Chiara Fontanesi won the Girls (9-13) Championship.

On the other side of the spectrum, Doug Dubach topped the 40-Plus class, while Ray Niebel took top honors in the 45-Plus class.

By Press Release