Carmichael Sizzles at High Point MX

Shan Moore | May 27, 2007

MT. MORRIS, MAY 27: Ricky Carmichael claimed a spectacular win, his second-straight of the season, at round two of the 2007 Toyota AMA Motocross Championship held at High Point Raceway near Mt. Morris, Pennsylvania.

The Makita Suzuki rider ran down a quick-starting James Stewart in the opeing moto, passing him on the 13th of the 17-lap race, and then rode off to a convincing win.

In the second moto, Carmichael passed Honda’s Davi Millsaps to take the lead before the end of the first lap and then quickly began building a lead that he would eventually stretch to 13 seconds by the time the 30 minute plus two-lap moto was done.

Stewart claimed second overall with a 2-2 finish, while Millsaps out dueled Stewart’s teammate Tim Ferry for the final step of the podium, going 4-3 to Ferry’s 3-4.

Honda’s Andrew Short finished fifth with Yamaha’s Grant Langston in sixth.

Carmichael’s victory marked the eighth win of his career at the popular Mt. Morris track and the 146th of his illustrious career.

“This one is special, especially racing James like this,” said Carmichael. “I like this place and I love the dirt here. The track was a little on the difficult side. It was tough to pass and tough to change lines, but the fans here have been very good to me.”

Sobe/Samsung/Honda’s Josh Grant claimed the second AMA Motocross Lites overall win of his young career as he stopped the Kawasaki freight train that is Ryan Villopoto and Ben Townley, who split wins at last week’s season opener. Villopoto, finished second (2-2) while Townley rebounded from a crash in the first moto to finish third with a 10-1 score.

Motocross Overall

1. Ricky Carmichael (Suz)

2. James Stewart (Kaw)

3. Davi Millsaps (Hon)

4. Timmy Ferry (Kaw)

5. Andrew Short (Hon)

6. Grant Langston (Yam)

7. Kevin Windham (Hon)

8. Michael Byrne (Suz)

9. Mike Alessi (KTM)

10. David Vuillemin (Hon)

Lites Overall:

1. Josh Grant (Hon)

2. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)

3. Ben Townley (Kaw)

4. Ryan Dungey (Suz)

5. Jason Lawrence (Yam)

6. Tommy Hahn (Hon)

7. Jake Weimer (Hon)

8. Broc Tickle (Yam)

9. Josh Hill (Yam)

10. Matt Goerke (Yam).

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.