Stewart Comes From the Back to Win Indy SX

Shan Moore | March 24, 2007

INDIANAPOLIS, MAR 24: James Stewart came from the back of the pack to take a thrilling win at round 12 of the Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series held at the RCA Dome in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Over 54,626 fans watched on as Chad Reed grabbed the holeshot to start the 20-lap main event. In the meantime, Stewart had been squeezed out in the first turn and was forced to work his way from dead last.

Unimpeded by traffic, Reed quickly gapped the field, however, Stewart was consistently turning lap times that were .7 of a second faster than the San manuel Yamaha rider and it would be just a matter of time before Stewart caught up to Reed. On lap 14 Stewart pulled even with Reed, making a clean pass to take the lead. Reed kept pace for a lap, but then Stewart pulled away to an easy win.

Reed finished second, while Kawasaki’s Tim Ferry finished third after running second behind Reed for the first few laps of the race.

“I was a little nervous when I saw Chad out front, because I was so far back in the pack,” said Stewart. “I have worked hard for everything for my entire life, and that’s what I did tonight, worked hard. I am so happy right now.”

“I had a great start tonight,” said Reed. “It was a lot of riding up front, but I need to be more aggressive out there.”

Ryan Dungey’s win in the Eastern Lites class was almost boring, which is probably alright with him. The Makita Suzuki rider grabbed the holeshot and then rode a steady and uneventful race to his second win of the series.

Kawasaki’s Ben Townley was within striking distance of Dungey for 10 of the 15 laps, in case Daungey made any mistakes, but he didn’t and Townley settled for second place, while’s Branden Jesseman grabbed his second straight podium with a third.

Series points leader Ryan Morais worked his way up from a mid-pack start to finish fourth and by doing so, maintains his lead in the series standings.

“This was a huge win for me,” said Dungey. “I have had some bad luck lately, and to pick up this win is huge for me and my team, who has been behind me all year. I have to use this as momentum for next weekend in Dallas.” Supercross Final:

1. James Stewart (Kaw)

2. Chad Reed (Yam)

3. Tim Ferry (Kaw)

4. Grant Langston (Yam)

5. Ivan Tedesco (Suz)

6. Davi Millsaps (Hon)

7. David Vuillemin (Hon)

8. Andrew Short (Hon)

9. Michael Byrne (Suz)

10. Josh Summey (Hon)

Supercross Lites Final:

1. Ryan Dungey (Suz)

2. Ben Townley (Kaw)

3. Branden Jesseman (Yam)

4. Ryan Morais (Yam)

5. Justin Brayton (Yam)

6. Mike Alessi (KTM)

7. Matt Goerke (Yam)

8. Thomas Hahn (Hon)

9. Darcy Lange (Kaw)

10. Broc Trickle (Yam)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.