Lange Extends Lead in BooKoo AX Series With Wins

Shan Moore | December 31, 2006

Series points leader Darcy Lange (passing Josh Woods at right) roared back from a poor performance on Friday night to claim both main event wins on Saturday night at round 4 of the K&N Filters Presents BooKoo Arenacross Championship Series held at the Will Rogers Memorial Coliseum in Fort Worth, Texas.

The Team Babbitt’s Kawasaki-backed rider suffered a poor start in Friday’s 250 main and could only manage to work his way up to seventh place in a race that was ultimately won by Two Brothers Racing/GPS Racing’s Brad Ripple.

Friday’s 450 main was filled with controversy as the top four finishers, Michael Blose, Darcy Lange, Kevin Johnson and Josh Woods, were all disqualified after jumping a double jump just as the red cross flag came out. Subway/Coca Cola/Honda’s Keith Johnson rolled the jump in question and was awarded the win, followed by Fenton Honda’s Robbie Reynard and MDK Honda’s Tyler Bowers.

On Saturday night, Lange passed Woods to take the lead in the 250 main and claim the win with Woods finishing third behind MDK Honda’s Tiger Lacy.

In Saturday’s 450 main, Reynard grabbed the holeshot and led for three laps before giving way to Lange. Lange took the win, ahead of Reynard, with defending BooKoo Arenacross Champion Josh Demuth (left) finishing third aboard a D&S Kawasaki.

With the performance, Lange extended his lead in the series standings to 82 points over Ripple (272 to 190), with MDK Honda’s Tyler Bowers in third overall with 186 points.


Friday 250 Main:

1. Brad Ripple (Hon)

2. Michael Blose (Suz)

3. Zach Ames (Hon)

4. Cory Green (Hon)

5. Chad Johnson (Suz).

Friday 450 Main:

1. Keith Johnson (Hon)

2. Robbie Reynard (Hon)

3. Tyler Bowers (Hon)

4. Josh Denuth (Kaw)

5. Chad Johnson (Suz).


Saturday 250 Main:

1. Darcy Lange (Kaw)

2. Tiger Lacy (Hon)

3. Josh Woods (Suz)

4. Brad Ripple (Hon)

5. Tyler Bowers (Hon)

Saturday’s 450 MAIN:

1. Darcy Lange (Kaw)

2. Robbie Reynard (Hon)

3. Josh Demuth (Kaw)

4. Keith Johnson (Hon)

5. Chad Johnson (Suz).

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.