Carmichael Comes From Behind To Win Vancouver SX

Shan Moore | December 9, 2006

VANCOUVER, B.C., CANADA, DEC 8: Ricky Carmichael closed out the Canadian swing of the 2006-2007 Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP Series tour with a come-from-behind win at Vancouver’s BC Place Stadium tonight. The Makita Suzuki rider moved into second place, behind James Stewart, on the second lap of the 20-lap main event and then followed the factory Kawasaki’s rider until the closing laps of the race where he passed the fellow Floridian in a left-handed bowl turn to take the lead.

From there, Carmichael pulled away to a relatively easy win, while Stewart nursed his sore ankle in for second.

Last week’s winner Chad Reed ran solo in third place for most of the main event on his San Manuel Band of Mission Indians-backed Yamaha. Reed rounded out the podium with MDK/Honda’s David Vuillemin in fourth and Team Kawasaki’s Timmy Ferry in fifth.

Rockstar Suzuki’s Michael Byrne ran with the front-runners during the early laps, but hit a rock and went down at the midway point, injuring his shoulder.

With the win, Carmichael took over the World GP points lead ahead of Reed, with Stewart in third.

“When you get out there and the adrenaline gets pumping it’s so fun,” said Carmichael. “I give James credit because he’s hurt and gave it his all. I will take the win if I can. I am leaving with the points lead, and I am excited to race in Anaheim.”

In the Lites division, Sobe/Samsung Mobile Honda’s Ryan Sipes took an impressive win over Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey, Red Bull KTM’s Zach Osborne and last week’s winner Martin Davalos, also on a KTM.

At the start of the Lites main, Sipes grabbed the holeshot, then ran off the track, falling back to third, and then retook the lead on the second lap of the 15-lap race. From the second lap on, Sipes was in full control, however Dungey, who was making his first-ever Supercross appearance, made it interesting, moving through the pack after a bad start to finish second.

Davalos ran in third for most of the race, but gave way to Osborne at the midway point.

“I got tangled after the first part of the race and fell into second place,” said Sipes. “I was able to get back into the lead, and I am very happy.”

1. Ricky Carmichael (Suz)

2. James Stewart (Kaw)

3. Chad Reed (Yam)

4. David Vuillemin (Hon)

5. Tim Ferry (Kaw)

6. Nathan Ramsey (Yam)

7. Travis Preston (Hon)

8. Jeff Gibson (Kaw)

9. Nick Wey (Hon)

10. Jason Thomas (Hon)

Lites Final

1. Ryan Sipes (Hon)

2. Ryan Dungey (Suz)

3. Zach Osborne (KTM)

4. Martin Davalos (KTM)

5. Kyle Beaton (Yam)

6. Jimmy Albertson (Yam)

7. Bobby Garrison (Yam)

8. Gary Davenport (Yam)

9. Dennis Jonon (KTM

10. Kevin Urquhart (Hon).

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.