Vuillemin Wins the Race, Pourcel Wins the Title at Bercy SX

Shan Moore | November 12, 2006

PARIS, FRANCE, NOV 12: David Vuillemin won the main event on the final night of racing at the Bercy Supercross, passing Josh Grant on lap three of the final and then cruising to an easy victory, while last night’s winner, Christophe Pourcel, rebounded from a first-turn crash to finish fifth, giving him more than points enough to earn the title of “King of Bercy”.

Had it not been for an engine failure on Friday night, Vuillemin (MDK Honda) might have been the “King of Bercy”.

“I proved a point this weekend,” Vuillemin said. “It is good to win both nights after a failure on the first night. I want to be king, and it was almost so. This is my house here. I love it here and I was really happy to be here with all the crowd cheering and the banners. It was really emotional because it was a really tough weekend for us.”

Pourcel did what no one else could, he avoided problems, got good starts and was consistent all weekend.

“I always try to ride a smart race and get in the right position at the right time,” Pourcel said.

Today was another dreadful day for the Americans as Mike Alessi hit a wall on lap six of the race and injured his hand. Meanwhile, Mike Brown crashed hard in the whoops and retired and Jason Lawrence missed the LCQ with a broken shock, and due to a misunderstanding with the organizer, was not allowed to ride the main event.

The lone high point for the US squad today was the second place finish by Grant, along with young Zach Osborne’s 11th.

The French team easily won the team trophy, outdistancing the US squad by 17 points (8 to 25), giving them their first-ever team title in the series.

Justin Brayton, of the team, was the top-finishing American rider, with a 2-5-12 finish over the three nights.

1. David Vuillemin (Hon)

2. Josh Grant (Hon)

3. Pierre-Alexandre Renet (Hon)

4. Eric Sorby (Kaw)

5. Christophe Pourcel (Kaw)

6. Benjamin Coisy (Hon)

7. Cedric Soubeyras (Yam)

8. Sebastien Pourcel (Kaw)

9. Marvin Musquin (Kaw)

10. Loic Rombaut (Kaw)

11. Zach Osborne (KTM)

12. Justin Brayton (Yam)

13. Antonio Cairoli (Yam)

14. Mike Alessi (KTM)

15. Mike Brown (Hon).

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.