Team USA Wins 2006 Motocross of Nations

Shan Moore | September 24, 2006

MASTERLEY BASIN, ENGLAND, SEPT 24: Team USA claimed the victory today at the 2006 Fox Motocross of Nations held at Matterley Basin Course, near Winchester, England, despite not winning a single moto of the three-race format. Three second place finishes, a third and a sixth gave James Stewart, Ryan Villopoto and Ivan Tedesco enough points to top Stefan Everts and the Belgian team by seven points. The New Zealand team of Ben Townley, Josh Coppins and Cody Cooper finished third.

In the first moto, which was for MX1 and MX2 machines, Everts, the retiring 10-time World Champion, grabbed the holeshot and pulled away from the factory Kawasaki of Stewart to take the win. Stewart fell early in the moto, and dropped back behind teammate Villopoto, on the Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki, but came on strong at the finish to take second, behind Everts and ahead of Villopoto.

In the second moto, for MX2 and MX3 bikes, Tedesco got a magnificent start and led the race until late when he began to fade with arm pump. Tedesco, who missed all of the outdoor season recovering from an injury, ended up finishing sixth, while Villopoto claimed second behind 2005 MX2 World Champion Antonio Cairoli.

The final race would be a showdown between Everts and Stewart, but Everts, who was making his final GP appearance, got to the front first, passing early leader David Philippaerts on the fifth lap and from there the Yamaha rider kept and eye on Stewart, keeping a good distance to the finish. Stewart finished second with Tedesco winding up with ninth.

Team USA won the overall trophy with a total of 15 points, compared to Team Belgium (Everts, Steve Ramon, Kevin Strijbos) with 22 and New Zealand with 35.


MOTO 1 (MX1/MX2): 1. Stefan Everts (Yam); 2. James Stewart (Kaw); 3. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw); 4. Christophe Pourcel (Kaw); 5. Ben Townley (Kaw); 6. Josh Coppins (Hon); 7. David Philipparts (KTM); 8. Max Nagl (KTM); 9. Tyla Rattray (KTM); 10. Antonio Cairoli (Yam); 11. Kevin Strijbos (Suz); 12. Tanel Leok (Kaw); 13. Billy MacKenzie (Yam); 14. Jonathan Barragan (KTM); 15. Sebastien Pourcel (Kaw); 16. Aigar Leok (Yam); 17. Matti Seistola (Hon); 18. Neville Bradshaw (Suz); 19. Antti Pyrhonen (TM); 20.Brett Metcalfe (Yam).

MOTO 2 (MX2/MX3): 1. Antonio Cairoli (Yam); 2. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw); 3. Ben Townley (Kaw); 4. Steve Ramon (Suz); 5. Tyla Rattray (KTM); 6. Ivan Tedesco (Suz); 7. Christophe Pourcel (Kaw); 8. Jussi Vehvilainen (Suz); 9. Tommy Searle (Kaw); 10. Carlos Campano (KTM); 11. Wyatt Avis (KTM); 12. Carl Nunn (KTM); 13. Aigar Leok (Yam); 14. Matti Seistola (Hon); 15. Marc Ristori (Hon); 16. Cristian Beggi (Hon); 17. Cody Cooper ((Hon); 18. Martin Zerava (Hon); 19. Yves Demaria (KTM); 20. Alvaro Lozano (KTM).

MOTO 3 (MX1/MX3): 1. Stefan Everts (Yam); 2. James Stewart (Kaw); 3. David Philippaerts (KTM); 4. Tanel Leok (Kaw); 5. Steve Ramon (Suz); 6. Jonathan Barragan (KTM); 7. Sebastien Pourcel (Kaw); 8. Josh Coppins (Hon); 9. Ivan Tedesco (Suz); 10. Billy MacKenzie (Yam); 11. Carl Nunn (KTM); 12. Yoshitaka Atsuta (Hon); 13. Cody Cooper (Hon); 14. Blair Morgan (Hon); 15. Yves Demaria (KTM); 16. Neville Bradshaw (Suz); 17. Alvaro Lozano (KTM); 18. Cheyne Boyd (Yam); 19. Daniel Reardon (Suz); 20. Jussi Vehvilainen (Suz).

OVERALL: 1. United States (15); 2. Belgium (22); 3. New Zealand (35); 4. Italy (37); 5. France (48); 6. Great Britain (55); 7. South Africa (59); 8. Spain (67); 9. Estonia (69); 10. Finland (78); 11. Australia (102); 12. Japan (118); 13. Germany (125); 14. Portugal (133); 15. Slovakia (134).

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.