Smith Takes Springfield Mile

Paul Carruthers | September 4, 2006
Screamin’ Eagle Moroney’s Harley-Davidson’s Bryan Smith won his first-ever Springfield Mile on Sunday, the Flint, Michigan, rider holding off Harley-Davidson Motor Co.’s Rich King and Kenny Coolbeth at the finish line.

Smith took the win by just .018 of a second over King with Coolbeth just .044 of a second behind.

Then came a gap of over four seconds to fourth place finisher Jared Mees on the Lancaster Screamin’ Eagle Harley, the Michigander just fractions ahead of American Suzuki’s Kevin Varnes and his teammate Jake Johnson, the man who wrapped up the Singles title the night before on the Springfield Short Track.

Chris Carr, the leader of the championship going into the Springield Mile, only completed 14 laps and was credited with 17th in the main event. With one round left in the series, Carr slips to third – 10 points behind Coolbeth. Mees sits between the two with 126 points, one better than Carr and nine behind Coolbeth. Smith, meanwhile, is fourth in the standings, one spot better than King.

Springfield Mile

1. Bryan Smith (H-D)

2. Rich King (H-D)

3. Kenny Coolbeth (H-D)

4. Jared Mees (H-D)

5. Kevin Varnes (Suzuki)

6. Jake Johnson (Suzuki)

7. Willie McCoy (H-D)

8. Nick Cummings (H-D)

9. Joe Kopp (H-D)

10. Brian Bigelow (H-D)

Paul Carruthers | Editor

Paul Carruthers took over as the editor of Cycle News in 1993 after serving as associate editor since starting his career at the publication in 1985. Carruthers has covered every facet of the sport in his near-28-year tenure at America's Daily Motorcycle News Source.