Carmichael, Hepler Sweep Steel City MX

Shan Moore | September 3, 2006

Suzuki riders swept the Monster Energy/Kawasaki Steel City National held at Steel City Raceway near Delmont, Pennsylvania today. Ricky Carmichael captured his ninth win of the season in the Motocross division with a perfect 1-1 performance on the muddy and rutted course, while his Makita Suzuki teammate Broc Hepler picked up his third straight AMA Motocross Lites overall victory after winning both moto in the 250F race.

Carmichael, who clinched his 10th AMA Motocross Championship at the last round in New York, made it look easy on a track that had been soaked the previous day by a local rain storm. The win was his 70th AMA Motocross overall win, an AMA record.

Kawasaki’s James Stewart turned in a solid 2-2 performance, good for second overall, while Honda’s Kevin Windham was third after posting 3-4 moto finishes.

“It’s been amazing and I appreciate everything that’s happened in my career,” said Carmichael, who made his professional debut at Steel City Raceway in 1996. “I’ve been so busy throughout out my career and pulled at all angles, but now I can look back and really enjoy what I’ve accomplished.”

In addition to the race win, Carmichael also clinched the Monster Energy/Kawasaki Triple Crown of Motocross top prize of $30,000 and a Kawasaki KLX110, for claiming the overall wins at the High Point, Red Bud, and Steel City rounds.

Hepler, from nearby Kittanning, Pennsylvania, continued his winning ways with a crowd-pleasing moto sweep. Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto finished second with a 3-2 moto finish and extended his lead to 29 points over KTM’s Mike Alessi who finished fifth (6-4). Honda’s Josh Grant, of Riverside, Calif., was third (2-3).


1. Ricky Carmichael (Suz) 1-1

2. James Stewart (Kaw) 2-2

3. Kevin Windham (Hon) 4-3

4. Davi Millsaps (Hon) 6-4

5. Michael Byrne (Kaw) 5-7

6. Michael Brown (Suz) 10-5

7. Nick Wey (Hon) 7-8

8. Timmy Ferry (Hon) 12-6

9. David Vuillemin (Yam) 8-12

10. Ryan Mills (Suz) 3-37

Motocross Lites

1. Broc Hepler (Suz) 1-1

2. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw) 3-2

3. Josh Grant (Hon) 2-3

4. Andrew McFarlane (Yam) 4-5

5. Mike Alessi (KTM) 6-4

6. Brett Metcalfe (Yam) 5-6

7. Kelly Smith (Hon) 9-11

8. Troy Adams (Kaw) 8-15

9. Chris Gosselaar (Kaw) 17-8

10. Paul Carpenter (Hon) 13-13

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.