Wiles Does It Again At Peoria

Paul Carruthers | August 20, 2006
MDR/Pro Honda Oils/4&6 Racing’s Henry Wiles completely dominated the Peoria TT today, becoming just the third rider in the 59-year history of the event to win three straight races there.

Wiles topped Coziahr H-D/National Cycle’s Johnny Murphree by 7.8 seconds with Memphis Shades/Yamaha’s JR Schabel finishing third, just a few tenths behind Murphree.

The Prince of Peoria Chris Carr, who has won Peoria 13 times, finished fourth on his Quality Checked Certified PreOwned Ford-backed KTM, a further three seconds behind the battle for second place.

Last week’s Castle Rock TT winner Jake Johnson ended up fifth on his American suuzki/Parts Unlimited-backed RM-Z450. King Racing’s Rich King, Latus H-D’s Joe Kopp, Moroney’s Honda’s Bryan Smith, Dave Burks Motorsports’ Robert Pearson and SJS Racing’s Paul Lynch rounded out the top 10 finishers.

Wiles joined Joe Leonard, Bart Markel and Carr as the only riders to ever win the historic race three times in a row.

The 22-year-old Wiles was relatively unknown until winning his first Peoria TT back in 2004.

Paul Carruthers | Editor

Paul Carruthers took over as the editor of Cycle News in 1993 after serving as associate editor since starting his career at the publication in 1985. Carruthers has covered every facet of the sport in his near-28-year tenure at America's Daily Motorcycle News Source.