Carr The First To Second

| July 31, 2006
Chris Carr became the first two-time winner of the 2006 AMA Ford Quality Checked Flat Track Championship with his victory at Hagerstown on Saturday night.

Under sweltering conditions and in front of a large crowd, Carr not only became the first two time winner of the season, but he also joined the late Will Davis and Steve Morehead as the first three time winners on the red clay of Hagerstown Raceway.

Carr led the race wire to wire, though he was under constant pressure from Harley-Davidson Motor Company/Screamin’ Eagle’s Kenny Coolbeth, though Coolbeth was forced to settle for second.

“I got a good start,” Carr said. “Kenny and I were about dead even going into the corner. I figured he’d be the guy I’d have to deal with after the heat races.”

Third place at Hagerstown went to Supertrapp/Doc’s H-D’s Mike Hacker, the Virginian beating Harley-Davidson Motor Company’s Rich King to the line. King ended up fourth with Screamin’ Eagle Lancaster Harley-Davidson’s Jared Mees rounding out the top five finishers.

Carr’s second win on the season puts him 12 points clear of Coolbeth, 108-96, with Mees third on 92 points. Bryan Smith, seventh on Saturday, is fourth in the point standings, four points ahead of Joe Kopp.

By Dave Hoenig