Lafferty Gets Third Win

Kit Palmer | June 5, 2006

On what was one of the toughest courses of the year, KTM’s Mike Lafferty held on to win his third enduro of the AMA Sports FMF Racing National Championship Enduro Series in Wellston, Ohio, June 4.

Despite riding with a sore knee, Lafferty, aboard a 400 EXC, established an early lead and held it through out the two-loop, approximately 170-mile enduro.

KTM riders filled the top three positions on the podium, with Lafferty taking the win followed by Stephen Edmonson and Russell Bobbitt.

Gas Gas rider Fred Hoess finished fourth, while John Barber rounded out the top five. KTM pilots Mark Hyde and Rich Lafferty finished sixth and seventh, respectively.

Kit Palmer | Off-Road Editor

Kit Palmer started his career at Cycle News in 1984 and he’s been testing dirt and streetbikes every since – plus covering any event that uses some form of a knobby tire. He’s also our resident motorcycle mileage man with a commute of 120 miles a day.