Bobbitt Wins Tennessee ISDE Qualifier

| June 23, 2006

Results from the West Point, Tennessee Two-day ISDE Qualifier were recently announced, with KTM’s Russell Bobbitt (pictured) taking a dominant victory over Suzuki’s Jimmy Jarrett and Wally Palmer. Bobbitt posted the fastest overall times in all ten of the special tests and ended with 132-points over second place.

Premier E2 class rider Bobbitt is now eligible to ride for the 23 and under Junior Trophy Team for the U.S. in New Zealand this November. Other eligible riders include Kurt Caselli, Ricky Dietrich, David Pearson and Wally Palmer.

“There’s only room for four riders and I’d like to be one of them,” Bobbitt said. “I’ve ridden on a couple of junior teams in the past but we were always considered the B team [behind six-rider US World Trophy Team]. With a group of riders like this we have an honest shot at a podium finish.”

Clay Boering rounded out the top five behind E1 class rider and ISDE veteran Fred Hoess, who rode to fourth overall aboard a Gas Gas 125 two-stroke. KTM-mounted Patrick Garrahan won the E3 class and finished ninth overall.

The event was held in conjuction with a SERA enduro, which current GNCC series leader Juha Salminen raced in the AA class, easily taking the win.

The final round of the AMA ISDE Qualifier series is July 8-9 in Walsenburg, CO.

ISDE Qualifier

West Point, Tennessee

Top Ten Overall

1.                  Russell Bobbitt                  KTM                  57:35

2.                  Jimmy Jarrett                  Suz                  59:47

3.                  Wallace Palmer                  Suz                  1:00:09

4.                  Fred Hoess                  Gas                  1:00:18

5.                  Clay Boreing                  KTM                  1:00:27

6.                  Dustin Gibson                                    1:00:39

7.                  Cole Kirkpatrick                  KTM                  1:00:50

8.                  Andrew Kendrick                                    1:01:01

9.                  Patrick Garrahan                  KTM                  1:01:11

10.                  Eric Bailey                  Gas                  1:01:57

By Steve Berkner