Carmichael Wins, Stewart Crashes at High Point MX

Shan Moore | May 28, 2006

Ricky Carmichael went 1-1 to claim the overall victory, while a crash while leading moto one ended James Stewart’s day at round two of the 2006 Toyota AMA Motocross Championship held at High Point Raceway, near Mt. Morris, Pennsylvania.

Stewart and Carmichael battled fiercely for almost the entire distance of moto one, with Carmichael leading the first few laps before giving way to Stewart, however Carmichael was never more than a bike length or two behind the factory Kawasaki rider for the duration. But with just four laps to go, Stewart tucked the front end on a downhill double jump and crashed heavily as his bike cartwheeled down the track. Carmichael went on to easily win the moto, while Stewart was attended to by track medics.

According to Kawasaki officials, Stewart suffered a mild concussion, but was taken to a local hospital for observations as a precautionary measure.

At the finish, Chad Reed put his Yamaha into second place behind Carmichael, while Team Honda’s Davi Millsaps took his first motocross class podium with a third.

The second moto was all Carmichael as the Makita Suzuki rider easily outdistanced Reed and Millsaps for the win. Motoworld Racing’s David Vuillemin finished fourth overall with 4-5 moto finishes with MDK/Motosport/Honda’s Nick Wey taking fifth overall with a 5-6 finish.

In the Lites division, Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto (right) took the overall win with a 2-1 finish, with Sobe/Samsung/Mobile/Honda’s Josh Grant taking second overall with a pair of thirds.

First moto winner, Mike Alessi went down on the first lap of the second moto and could only manage to work back up to eighth, giving the Red Bull KTM rider third overall. Villopotto’s teammate, Grant Langston, who was riding with a sore wrist, finished fourth overall with 4-4 finishes, after briefly leading the first moto.

Motocross Class Overall:

1. Ricky Carmichael (Suz) 1-1

2. Chad Reed (Yam) 2-2

3. Davi Millsaps (Hon) 3-3

4. David Vuillemin (Yam) 4-5

5. Nick Wey (Hon) 5-6

6. Travis Preston (Hon) 6-7

7. Josh Demuth (Hon) 7-8

8. Josh Summey (Hon) 8-9

9. Robbie Reynard (Hon) 9-10

10. Jason Thomas (Hon) 11-12

Lites Class Overall:

1. Ryan Villopotto (Kaw) 2-1

2. Josh Grant (Hon) 3-3

3. Mike Alessi (KTM) 1-8

4. Grant Langston (Kaw) 4-4

5. Andrew Short (Hon) 11-2

6. Troy Adams (Kaw) 8-5

7. Nathan Ramsey (KTM) 9-7

8. Andrew McFarlane (Yam) 7-10

9. Matt Georke (Yam) 6-12

10. Brett Metcalfe (Yam) 10-11

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.