Carmichael Wins, Stewart Crashes Again

Shan Moore | March 4, 2006
Ricky Carmichael jumped into the lead shortly after the start of round nine of the Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series held in Indianapolis, Indiana, and then cruised home with an easy win. However, for most of the race, all eyes were glued on James Stewart, as the Team Kawasaki rider put on an amazing ride in the RCA Dome after, once again, being involved in a first turn pile up. Stewart went from dead last and move into second place on lap nine of the 20-lap race, over eight seconds behind Carmichael.

Stewart continued to charge over the second half of the race, but ultimately ran out of time and finished second.

Team Yamaha’s Chad Reed moved up to third at the finish after being sixth at the start, while MDK/Motosport/Honda’s Nick Wey turned in another great ride to finish fifth, behind Carmichael’s Makita Suzuki teammate Ivan Tedesco. With the win, Carmichael closes to within a single point of the series points leader Reed in the standings, 191 to 190, with Stewart in third with 174.

In the Lites division, Davi Millsaps took advantage of a mistake by Sobe/Samsung/Mobile/Honda’s Josh Grant to win the main event, while Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Chris Gosselaar coasted in for third.’s Kelly Smith grabbed the holeshot at the start of the Lites main, but was quickly passed by Grant and Team Honda’s Millsaps.

On lap two, Millsaps went under Grant, but Grant retaliated a few turns later and retook the lead.

From there, Grant slowly pulled a lead on Millsaps and looked like a sure bet for the win. However, on lap 10, Grant made a mistake in the rhythm section and nearly went over the bars, handing the lead back to Millsaps.

Millsaps came home with the win, with Grant in second and Gosselaar in third.

With the win, Millsaps extended his lead in the series standings with 72 points, while Gosselaar moves into second overall with 54. Yamaha of Troys Brandon Jesseman drops to third with 52, followed by Grant in fourth with 47.

SX MAIN (20 laps):

1. Ricky Carmichael (Suz)

2. James Stewart (Kaw)

3. Chad Reed (Yam)

4. Ivan Tedesco (Suz)

5. Nick Wey (Hon)

6. Ernesto Fonseca (Hon)

7. Michael Byrne (Kaw)

8. Travis preston (Hon)

9. Tim Ferry (Hon)

10. Jeff Gibson (Hon)

SX LITES MAIN (15 laps):

1. Davi Millsaps (Hon)

2. Josh Grant (Hon)

3. Chris Gosselaar (Kaw)

4. Kelly Smith (Hon)

5. Rob Kiniry (Hon)

6. Josh Hansen (KTM)

7. Branden Jeseman (Yam)

8. Tucker Hibbert (Yam)

9. Tommy Hahn (Hon)

10. Sean Hamblin (Suz)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.