Carmichael Wins Record Fifth Daytona

Shan Moore | March 10, 2006

Team Makita Suzuki’s Ricky Carmichael took a two-point lead in the Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series points standings after claiming the win at round 10 of the series held at Daytona International Speedway, in Daytona, Florida. The win was Carmichael’s fifth at the legendary venue, breaking the record for most Supercross wins at Daytona, previously held by Jeff Stanton.

The win was also Suzuki’s first at Daytona since 1981.

Team Yamaha’s Chad Reed, who was riding in pain after separating his shoulder in a practice accident the day before, finished second in the final, ahead of Team Kawasaki’s Michael Byrne.

Kawasaki’s James Stewart grabbed the holeshot in the 20-lap main event, with Reed and Carmichael in tow, but the Team Kawasaki rider went down on lap three, handing the lead to Carmichael, who had just passed Reed.

From there, Carmichael pulled out to an impressive lead, eventually finishing over 30 seconds ahead of Reed. Team Honda’s Travis Preston finished fourth, behind Byrne, while MDK/Motosport/Honda’s Nick Wey came home in fifth. Stewart worked up from the back of the pack to finish sixth.

Carmichael’s Makita Suzuki teammate Ivan Tedesco, who won a heat race earlier in the day to become the only other rider besides Carmichael, Reed or Stewart to win a heat all season, came back from a first-turn crash to finish seventh.

Carmichael now leads the series standings with 215 points, followed by Reed with 213, Stewart with 189 and Tedesco with 158.

In the Lites division, Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Chris Gosselaar led from the start after grabbing the holeshot, but gave way to Team Honda’s Davi Millsaps at the end of lap one.

From there, Millsaps slowly and steadily pulled away for the win, with Sobe/Samsung/Mobile/Honda’s Josh Grant taking second, ahead of Gosselaar. Yamaha of Troy’s Branden Jesseman ran fourth for a big part of the race, but ran off the track on the last lap, giving the position to Grant’s teammate Tommy Hahn.

SX MAIN (20 laps):

1. Ricky Carmichael (Suz)

2. Chad Reed (Yam)

3. Michael Byrne (Kaw)

4. Travis Preston (Hon)

5. Nick Wey (Hon)

6. James Stewart (Kaw)

7. Ivan Tedesco (Suz)

8. Tim Ferry (Hon)

9. Billy Laninovich (Hon)

10. Heath Voss (Yam)

SX LITES MAIN (15 laps):

1. Davi Millsaps (Hon)

2. Josh Grant (Hon)

3. Chris Gosselaar (Kaw)

4. Tommy Hahn (Hon)

5. Branden Jeseman (Yam)

6. Kelly Smith (Hon)

7. Josh Summey (Hon)

8. Bryan Johnson (Yam)

9. Jay Marmont (KTM)

10. Michael Blose (Hon)

Shan Moore | Contributing Editor

Moore covers all facets of off-road racing for Cycle News – from AMA Supercross and Motocross to GNCC and National Hare Scrambles events.